Social Work Case Manager (Female, Age 33) in Austin, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Social Work Case Manager in Austin, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSocial Work Case Manager
Salary$43,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAustin, TX
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for one of the largest health insurance companies in the country. There are offices across the country and 4 hubs of service

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work with members who are having financial or other problems related to their healthcare

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Insurance, disability, wellness incentives, mental health benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
a little underpaid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work in a cubicle and will soon be working at home so I work with everyone telephonically and electonically and I do like it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Work in cube and soon in home office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet ready for work
8am to 9amDrive to wrok
9am to 10amLog onto computer and check email and organize for the day
10am to 11amDiscuss issues with doctor in area to learn more about guidance
11am to 12pmMake contact with 2 members… now have to do research
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmCOntinue research for members
2pm to 3pmPrepare mailings for two members. Send off
3pm to 4pmCotnact members (3) and leave messages because unabel to reach
4pm to 5pmSend emails
5pm to 6pmDrive home
6pm to 7pmHome
7pm to 8pmHome
8pm to 9pmHome
9pm to 10pmHome
10pm to 11pmHome
11pm to 12amHome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Intenet

What was the application process?
Online submission

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes two group interviews with two phone interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No idea

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, my employer uses my experience but would not have been able to prepare me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Masters degree with 4 years of experience in many areas of medical social work

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It is essential. The ideas on how to read policy and and know how to locate resources.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, was in several medical fields

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Yes. It is a wonderful position for a social worker because of the timeframe and the positive impact you can have with members who really need help and usually don’t have access.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good Organization, Friendly and helpful, Motivated, Cooperative

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definately! Must have Masters

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure that you gain well-rounded experience and know how to locate and utiliize resources. You must be persistance and work well with people

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I would like to expand my role and supervise others soon

What are your current career goals?
Supervising others and getting my PhD to teach

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope. I love my job

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Social Work Case Manager2 years43000Work with members in need of assistance due to medical issues
Prior Job 2Social Worker1 year35000WOrk with hospital patients with issues

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9SMUPsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.6SWTSocial Work

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.