Retail Associate (Female, Age 41) in woodstock, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Retail Associate in woodstock, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRetail Associate
Salary$9,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationwoodstock, AL
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
retail

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
cashier /stocker

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
na

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does involve work with others. I like everything about it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
n a store at the front and some stocking in the back.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was a walk in that just applied there hoping they needed help.

What was the application process?
It was only a paper application process at the time.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had a interview and it was the only one I went to. The manager did the interview for just myself not a group.I was asked some questions and my application was viewed.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
NA

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do because I had training for the first three days I was there with someone else showing me what to do.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I had hands on training for the first three days I was there. Another co-worker would show me the methods of the register and how to stock also.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I had great conduct, high grades and great attendance too.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would tell them to apply with similar retail experience like I did and have a good attitude.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should have social skills,customer service skills and organizational skills to work with other people to be efficient.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No I do not. think I need a certain level of education but I do need training to know how to respond to situations .

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to have a good attitude and be confident in themselves.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No it is not a part of my plan. I want to move on to a better plan later on when I can take some school courses and finish.

What are your current career goals?
Just learning all I can to apply to any future career later.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No it is not.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1cashier/stocker18 months7.5Handling customer transactions and some stocking on aisles.
Prior Job 2retail23 months7.85I handled customer transactions daily and balanced a cash drawer before leaving.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:87

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
85PCDIComputer Course Certificate
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.