Math Teacher (Female, Age 28) in Bronx, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Math Teacher in Bronx, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMath Teacher
Salary$57,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBronx, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small school in the South Bronx. We are on the 5th floor of a large high school building. There are currently approximately 25 staff which includes teachers, aides, secretaries, counselors and the administration. My organization is an educational institution that provides students in grades 9 thru 12 with the opportunity to earn and obtain a high school diploma.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach 9th and 10th grade mathematics using both traditional and modernized equipment. I specialize in ensuring that students who come in with low or no basic skills are able to understand and appreciate the math world. I am also part of several committees that are committed to enhancing student learning. I can also be classified as a Big Sister by the students because I am there for them when they need me.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
HIP, UFT dental and prescription coverage, Tax Deffered Annuity Plan, 527 retirement plan and Teachers Retirement System, only vacation is during summer and any holidays during the week

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes I do. I believe I sacrifice a lot and I play a more important role than sports stars and while I dont believe anyone should receive that much money, I think teachers are looked at as though we only work in school when reality is we work in school, at home, during our sleep, etc. We stress and try so hard to open the minds of the youth more than anyone else in this world.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes my job entails me to work with students daily as well as teachers and other staff members. I enjoy this because it keeps my spirits high as well as allows met to learn more about those I work so close with. I dislike it at times because we can all use some alone time every now and then.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I ranked Job title 8th because while I am titled Teacher, I do so much more than just teach.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up at 6am and be out of my house by 7am. Drop off my son and then drive to work while making mental notes of what is needed to be accomplished at work today.
8am to 9amMeet with my co-teacher and discuss the lessons we have planned as well as homeworks given or to be given.
9am to 10amContinue to meet with my co-teacher but their is a possibility that at the same time during the week I meet with the assistant principal to discuss lessons, and guidance counselor to discuss student behaviors.
10am to 11amTeaching and counseling
11am to 12pmTeaching and counseling
12pm to 1pmLunch or tutoring students
1pm to 2pmTeaching and counseling
2pm to 3pmMeet with my team and discuss target groups, AVID, curriculum and any miscellaneous duties we have been asked to complete
3pm to 4pmTeaching and counseling. Then either meet with someone after school or head out to pick up my son.
4pm to 5pmTake my son to the park so he can play
5pm to 6pmWhile my son is playing in the park, I am grading work or making phone calls home to parents.
6pm to 7pmGet home and cook dinner while making phone calls to student homes
7pm to 8pmSpend some time with my son.
8pm to 9pmPut my son to bed then work on creating lesson plans for the following day. Creating worksheets and Notebook presentations for the Smartboard.
9pm to 10pmContinue creating lesson plans and grading papers.
10pm to 11pmTry to put everything work-related down and just relax and possibly go to sleep.
11pm to 12amSLEEP

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
by looking at subways ads for Good Teachers

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and application, waiting to get a letter of acceptance and interview date, go to interview date and go through a long workshop and then demo and then intervew.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I met the principal through a job fair and we just clicked. The next step was to go to the school and give a demo lesson to several students. I had a meeting with them afterwards and they asked if I could go back a few days later. I returned to meet some staff members and had a meeting with them. As I was walking to the elevator, the principal came to me and said though it was finalized, I was hired!

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Unfortunately, my memory isn’t that good.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was given a mentor my first year who did help me a lot so Yes I do feel i was properly prepared.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes through the NYC Teaching Fellows program. I received 2 months training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My background was Computer Science and since that involved a lot of math I definitely felt I was prepared.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
It did but only because I got to learn the type of crowd I would be dealing with daily.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To apply for a program like the New York Teaching Fellows because the state pays for a part of your Masters, and you can start working as a teacher asap. However, they have to have at least their bachelors to do that. Once they get in the program they can get their feet wet during the training.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience because children need people with a lot of patience.

Ability to explain things in different formats because not everyone learns the same way.

Social Skills because children need to be able to talk to you and communicate in a proper manner.

Organizational skills because things pile up and you have to know where everything is at.

The “WANT” because its important to WANT to make a change. That will drive your DETERMINATION.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definitely, at least a bachelors. You have to be exposed to different types of teachers in order to know which one you can be.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Ive given advice to many already. My advice is that the First year is the hardest but as long as they find someone they can talk to about their experience they will be able to get through it. I also tell them that they need to form a relationship with someone who is teaching the same subject so they can learn tips and tricks and even get lesson plans or worksheets to help their first year. I advice them to not take anything home because as a first year teacher, we want to do so much that we put everything else aside and that is not healthy.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because I want to stay within the education department and move up in the ladder.

What are your current career goals?
My career goals is to become an Assistant Principal for a few years and then a Principal.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I LOVE TEACHING!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teachera4 years54000Teach Algebra and Advanced Math to high school students
Prior Job 2Case Manager3 years35000Assist those that were affected by 9/11 to receive proper job training, or financial assistance as well as hold workshops so people can know their Workers Compensation rights and to advice people with a new plan of action.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:NA

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3Pace UniversityBA Computer Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.7City CollegeMA in Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.