Guide/Teacher (Female, Age 32) in omaha, NE

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Guide/Teacher in omaha, NE. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGuide/Teacher
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week20
Company Size(not answered)
Locationomaha, NE
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the botanical gardens in the education dept.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Teaching school groups, leading tours.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with adult and children on the tours. No, I do not have a problem with working with people. I love working with children, especially early childhood.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Through the whole gardens. several acres

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I went to the place and filled out an application

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one group interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I honestly can not remember it was 3 hours long

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I do.. there was almost a whole dictionary sized info pamphlet when I started.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training was a few weeks of shadowing. Then you move on to single groups.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have had early .childhood education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes. I did volunteer work at the zoo in horticulture.. I did not actually intern.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Learn all you can about the job before hand.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
wonderful social skills, organization skills, and lots of memorization skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not a lot of education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You really got to love this job to stay devoted to it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no. I do not know why.

What are your current career goals?
finish school when I can and find a job that fits me.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing left that I can think of.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1volunteer1 yr0Horticulture volunteer. I took care and planted flowers in displays.
Prior Job 2waitress4 years2.25 pr hrWaitress. waiting tables for tips.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3metro community collegeLiberal arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.