Family Support Worker (Female, Age 30) in Tigard, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Family Support Worker in Tigard, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFamily Support Worker
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37.5
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTigard, OR
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Non-profit agency interested in helping low-income families, immigrants, rehabilitating families, etc. Contract with government agencies to provide services in local communities. Local office size consists of nine employees across two programs. Overall agency employs over 100 employees across two states and four main programs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide in home visits to families who have recently become parents (prenatal through within three months of birth) to their first child, or this is their first parenting experience. Our goal is to prevent/reduce child abuse and neglect, improve health outcomes, and support parents in having a positive, fulfilling parenting experience. We serve families until their first child is three years old. During home visits, I show families how to do child-centered activities that will foster normal development. I also do paperwork/record keeping in an office setting.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
My agency provides exceptional benefits: medical and dental with very minimal co-payments, retirement investment opportunity with high employer matching contributions, 2 weeks vacation per year, 10 days sick leave per year, and flexible working hours.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Pay: undercompensated. Benefits: I feel lucky compared to other local non-profits.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.