Third-Party Software Engineer (Male, Age 25) in Fort Washington, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Third-Party Software Engineer in Fort Washington, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleThird-Party Software Engineer
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFort Washington, PA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Work for the #1 online weight loss company in America. 700+ employees. E-commerce driven business

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for updating, configuring, and maintaining 3rd party software through out the company. By “3rd party” I mean software that is not programmed by employees. For example, Microsoft Excel is a 3rd party software.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Eye, Dental as well as employee discounts, stock options, paid time off, etc

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work in an IT “help desk” situation. About 30 Cubicles – I interact with just about every one of the people in them during the week.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up
8am to 9amGet to work
9am to 10amCheck email, network with my coworkers about issues experienced over the last night
10am to 11amRun reports, troubleshoot existing issues
11am to 12pmContinue trouble shooting incidents
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmDaily IT Status Meeting
2pm to 3pmMore software maintenance
3pm to 4pmRun Reports
4pm to 5pmClean up anything outstanding for the day
5pm to 6pmGo home
6pm to 7pmDinner time! 🙂
7pm to 8pmRelax
8pm to 9pmRelax
9pm to 10pmRelax
10pm to 11pmOn-Call
11pm to 12amOn-call / Sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
University Job Fair

What was the application process?
Submitted Resume, filled out online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a 3 hour interview session with 3 different managers, one on one.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What skills did I possess. If I could handle specific situations and responsibilities.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they are constantly training me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There is constant training to keep up with the latest software, hardware , technological advances

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes a bachelors was necessary

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes helped me get used to a corporate vs public setting

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First get a Bachelors in IT or Computer Science. Then search for employers that would have a technical aspect to them. My employer is a major online retailer – so obviously they will have a need for technical positions

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills out the wazoo! Be very computer literate as well as efficient.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you are ready for long hours when the system goes down. Customers will go elsewhere if they can’t order from the website you are responsible for!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, resume builder

What are your current career goals?
Make more money

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 13rd Party Software Engineer2 Years50000Support 3rd party software solutions
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9Drexel UniversityBA Information Systems
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.