Worker'S Compensation Claims Adjuster (Female, Age 35) in Pasadena, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Worker'S Compensation Claims Adjuster in Pasadena, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Worker'S Compensation Claims Adjuster
Salary $53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 43
Company Size (not answered)
Location Pasadena, CA
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the state’s largest and oldest provider of worker’s compensation insurance. There are offices throughout the entire state.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I make liability decisions, coordinate medical benefits and pay compensation for injured workers. I also request investigations and negotiate settlement with attorneys.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Sick time (8 hours per month) vacation time (7 hours per month), medical, dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job requires interaction with drs, nurses, attorneys and coworkers on a daily basis. I enjoy this because my job is never boring. I am constantly learing new things. In addition, my department works in a “team model” environment.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a large office. I am never in the field or working from home. It can get a little tiresome sitting in my cubicle.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive in the office. Change outgoing voicemail message to indicate the date. Read through emails and make a mental plan of things I would like to accomplish for the day.
8am to 9am Start on first task which is revising monthly estimates for claims. This is where we allocate estimate costs of claims. I am interrupted by call from an applicant attorney who would like to discuss a settlement for their client. I ask them to fax me their settlement demand. Go back to working on estimates. Interrupted by call from dr’s office wanting authorization for a procedure. Go back to working on estimates.
9am to 10am Informal, brief team meeting regarding special project. Finish up estimates. Go to legal dept to speak with one of our attorneys regarding a complicated case.
10am to 11am Respond to emails from my manager, brokers and attorneys. Read investigation report and make liability decision on a claim.
11am to 12pm Received several calls from medical lien claimants wanting to negotiate their bills. Gets very frustrating!!!
12pm to 1pm lunch!
1pm to 2pm Pay and object to medical bills for my injured workers. Sign up for training classes.
2pm to 3pm Review 2 cases for finalization and settlement. Call attorneys to start settlement process.
3pm to 4pm Draw up legal settlement paperwork for my supervisor to review before I mail to attorney.
4pm to 5pm Wrapping it up. Listening to and logging voicemail messages for the day. Making a to-do list for the next day. Go home!
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I started as a temp worker through an agency.

What was the application process?
Submitted application, took 4 hour exam, panel interview with 4 moderators, hiring interview with 6 managers. Lots of hoops to jump through!

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
First there was an individual panel interview conducted by 4 managers. This was ranked. Those who ranked highest were called back for individual hiring interviews with 6 managers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked what I thought this position would entail.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I’m not sure. I think we would have benefited from less classroom training and more on the job training. It was information overload sitting there for a month.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was 4 weeks of classroom training. Different instructors would come in and cover different aspects of the job. After we completed this, there was 40 hours of on the job training. We sat with experienced adjusters.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel like my educational backround helps me on a daily basis. It helps me negotiate and difuse really stressful, ugly situation. Also knowing a bit about psychopharmacology helps me. I don’t have to spend as much time as others looking up medications that injured workers are taking.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend they brush up on their math skills to pass the exam. They should also look at civil service exam examples at the public library.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person would really have to be a “Jack of All Trades” to have a position like mine. They would have to be EXCELLENT at communication, able to prioritize tasks and be a quick-learner. Also the ability to stay calm in very stressful situations would be helpful.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely. I think a person would need a 4 year degree or at least 4 years of insurance experience.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to be very flexible. Laws and procedures are constantly changing. I would also tell them to leave all emotions at work. Don’t take it home with you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Absolutely. I feel like I have many options in insurance. I am learning valuable experience every day that I could apply to future jobs.

What are your current career goals?
My current goal is to continue gaining experience to eventually take to another position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing comes to mind.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Program Technician 14 months $9/hour Basic clerical office duties. Filing, copying, phones.
Prior Job 2 Sales Associate 3 months $9/hour Sales position. Ringing orders, inventory.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Cal State University Psychology BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.