Financial Accounting Consultant (Male, Age 45) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 45 who works as a Financial Accounting Consultant in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Accounting Consultant
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrooklyn, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Temple Israel – I work in the accounting department performing general accounting duties. The Temple has approximatele 250 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Prepare general ledger account analysis utilizing the Oracle General Ledger System and Essbase. Post journal entries to the PeopleSoft General Ledger System. Analyze monthly expenses and prepared and posted accruals for the month-end close. Assist in generating month-end variance analysis and the Financial Summary.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amTake the train to commute to work. It takes about an hour to arrive from my house to my desk at my office.
8am to 9amGet Breakfast and read the newspaper before heading up to work.
9am to 10amArrive at the office. Log-in to the computer. Check e-mails, check voice-mail. Review assignments for the day.
10am to 11amLog-in to financial accounting systems. Start posting the day’s accounting journal entries. These entries are general transactions that need to be entered in the company’s books.
11am to 12pmContinue to enter transactions into the computer system. This takes 3 hours.
12pm to 1pmLunch break – one hour.
1pm to 2pmContinue to enter transactions into the computer system. This takes 3 hours.
2pm to 3pmMeet with supervisor to go over the day’s transactions and determine if any a-hoc projects need to be undertaken. The meeting is a general staff meeting to see what everyone is doing and to determine any outstanding projects. Additional work may be assigned.
3pm to 4pmStart to prepared monthly account analysis on various income and balance sheet accounts. This entails going into the financial accounting system and updating the accounts. It also entails using MS Excel to prepare and update aaccounting spreadsheet.
4pm to 5pmComplete the day’s acount analysis and then check assignment log to determine what needs to be done for the next day. Check in with supervisor. Leave at 5:00 pm for home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Employment Agency

What was the application process?
submitted resume, paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, individual interview with several people.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How are your Excel skills, where do you see yourself in 5 years, what was the most challenging position you worked in the last two years.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my supervisor is very outgoing and communicative.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, trained on the company’s existing computer systems.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I graduated from a very good university.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Post resume on-line.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
College degree in accounting and finance, excellent computer skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard, be dependable and reliable and detail oriented.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I like being an accountant and am currently studying to take the CPA certification exam. I am very good at what I do and I don’t want to change anything.

What are your current career goals?
To obtain my CPA and start my own business as an accountant, tax expert and financial consultant.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Yes, my career has been fulfilling to me and I expect to get more out of it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Accountant2 Years30000
Prior Job 2Accountant3 Years25000Analyzed and processed the monthly transfer invoices; monthly billings to the Dreyfus group of funds for various receivable items; prepared various accruals and journal entries; monthly analysis of general ledger accounts; monthly reconciliations and various ad hoc projects.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.75

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.75University of PennsylvaniaB.S. Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.