Grader/Lab Tech (Male, Age 38) in orange park, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 38 who works as a Grader/Lab Tech in orange park, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGrader/Lab Tech
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationorange park, FL
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
UNF is a liberal arts university in Northeast Florida. I work in the physics department with about 15 instructors and two lab techs. The University serves a student body of about 20,000 students.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I grade student exams, labs and prepare labs for weekly sessions. I do this within a strict time frame as deadlines are concrete.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I spend about 1/5 of my time working with others, the remaining time is spent working alone. I get my job duties from my supervisor, and then perform them on my own.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office and a lab. I like the combination of being on my feet and time spent at a desk. This add a nice variety to my work day preventing me from getting bored with too much time spent in one repetitive task.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amGot to work, checked in with my supervisor and spoke with her about what needed to be done today.
10am to 11amDisassembled last weeks lab equipment, put gear in proper storage places and cleaned up lab.
11am to 12pmRead through lab manual and collected lab equipment from around facility. I put gear in lab and sorted out what I needed for each lab station.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmI set up each lab station making sure equipment was functional. I replaced or repaired broken gear.
2pm to 3pmI ran through experiment to ensure process was good.
3pm to 4pmGot last weeks lab reports and graded them.
4pm to 5pmContinued grading lab reports.
5pm to 6pmSorted labs and returned them to instructor.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walking into department and asking about available positions.

What was the application process?
Paper application in HR office

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Individual interview with direct supervisor. I had this single interview, and on her recommendation was hired.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why did I want to do this job? What skill did I feel I possessed that made me qualified? What were my long term goals? What were my short term goals?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employer did not provide any specific training for this position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had no specific job training beside a background in lab work from my time in college.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My educational background did prepare me as I have a B.S. in physics. The extensive number of labs I took and contact with similar material provided me with all the training I needed.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have internship experience for this job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Seek employment by directly speaking to department heads at University in question. This position was not advertised.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
B.S in the sciences and an enjoyment of working both on your feet and at a desk. Critical eye for detail and patience for repetitive tasks.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Go slow, take time, and ask questions of supervisors to ensure you are aware, in detail, of what is expected of you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My current employment keeps me engaged in my field of interest while I look for other opportunities.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to work in a lab at a major university doing scientific research.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This is a great stepping stone for a career as a lab technician.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1lab technician2 years26000I worked maintaining a laser ablation inductively coupled mass spectrometer.
Prior Job 2Borders Books3 years12000I maintained store displays.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Univeristy of FloridaPhysics, B.S.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.