Automotive Technician/Mechanic/Collison Repair 

(Male, Age 24) from Taylor, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Automotive Technician/Mechanic/Collison Repair in Taylor, PA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Automotive Technician/Mechanic/Collison Repair
Salary $26,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Taylor, PA
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Work for a small used car lot. Only have my boss and his sister working with me. My boss and I sell the cars, I fix the cars, his sister does paperwork.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Repair cars, paint cars, restore old cars.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Wake up and get ready for work. Get dressed, brush teeth and hair, throw on my boots, and leave.
8am to 9am Arrive at work. Make some coffee and get started on fixing cars. I’m a mechanic.
9am to 10am Continue fixing cars. If someone shows up at the car lot, I answer questions about the car they’re interested in.
10am to 11am Continue working on cars. That’s all I do.
11am to 12pm Fix more cars, answer the phone, talk to people who come in looking to buy a new car.
12pm to 1pm Take lunch.
1pm to 2pm Go back to fixing cars.
2pm to 3pm Finish up with whatever car I’m working on.
3pm to 4pm Clean garage, put away tools, go over last minute details for next work day.
4pm to 5pm Leave work.
5pm to 6pm Arrive home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.