Owner (Female, Age 23) in Lapeer, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Owner in Lapeer, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner
Salary$12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week60
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLapeer, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Online/Home business. I am the owner and operator. I sell vintage, retro, homemade t-shirts.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Handles finances, orders, shipments, marketing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
No benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I live and work alone. My work is mainly done on the computer. I like the privacy and the freedom.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My bedroom is where I work. I like it because I feel comfortable in my home.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAnswered emails from customers and clients. Browsed auction sites and called potential clients to set up meetings.
8am to 9amFinished a new design I’ve been working on. It didn’t turn out how I imagined it, but it still is marketable. Used photoshop to edit some previously thought up ideas. The designs should be done within the week.
9am to 10amFilled out orders for some vintage shirts a company ordered. Met with a local printing company to discuss a printing deal. The meeting was interrupted by an emergency from the woman’s husband.
10am to 11amWent to the flea market. I didn’t find any shirts worth buying, which was a little disappointing. I did find some rather neat designs that I would love to but on some shirts. I’ll have to see how they hold up against the other shirts though.
11am to 12pmStill at the flea market. Chatted with a young man about my business and what I do. He seemed interested enough. I gave him my card and told him to call me later. Think I just scored a new customer.
12pm to 1pmThe woman from the printing place called and apologized for earlier. She rescheduled our meeting for 2pm. She says that she’ll throw in an extra 5% off my total order. Which brings the total off up to 30%. Which is great for me.
1pm to 2pmGot home and took some more orders from online. Answered some emails from people with questions/concerns. Went back into photoshop and started reworking the designs from earlier. Though I don’t know how to make them better.
2pm to 3pmThe kid from the flea market called just as I was walking into the printing place. I let it go to voicemail. I can call him when I’m done. The meeting was a success. The woman was very kind to me and asked if I would be interested in designing a shirt for the local fair. I said I’d give it some though.
3pm to 4pmCalled the kid from the flea market back. He says he’s not interested in any of my designs. Though he would like me to call him if I get anymore vintage band shirts. I said I’d do what I can but I’m very busy. I doubt I’ll call him back.
4pm to 5pmStopped working for the day. Always stop while you’re ahead I always say.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I woke up one day and realized it’s what I wanted to do.

What was the application process?
Self-employeed. There was no application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, and I was very hard on myself. But in the end I made a memorable impression on myself and just had to give myself the job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. My education has not prepared me for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Find someone who’s willing and is interested in fronting the money for your project. Make sure you’re good enough to pay them back.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Drawing, design, communication, patience.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think common sense and patience is all you need. A little humor has never hurt either.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t always listen to your gut.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because I have no plans of doing anything else.

What are your current career goals?
Make enough money to survive and be happy.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s the greatest job in the world.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.