Independent Broker (Female, Age 23) in West Chester, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Independent Broker in West Chester, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleIndependent Broker
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWest Chester, PA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I represent mostly Fortune 500 insurance companies and have the ability to offer their products on an independent contractor basis. I work independently.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help people to evaluate the insurance they have and then help them to compare it with other available kinds of insurance to see if we can offer them more comprehensive coverage or lower premium.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I make my own schedule and have the freedom to choose my own insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work by myself with my clients and I like it. There are occasions where I can collaborate with other professionals in the industry to share ideas and other sales concepts.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I spend most of my time in the field and a smaller percentage of time in the office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amdriving to first appointment
9am to 10ammet with current client to review current coverage. We talked about the insurance he pays for through his employment and compared it to the coverage he could get from a Medicare supplement.
10am to 11am
11am to 12pmlunch with client
12pm to 1pmphone call to major medical company to verify appointment status and send any addition paper work necessary to complete the appointment process
1pm to 2pmtrip to staples to photocopy paperwork for my records
2pm to 3pmtrip to post office to deliver daily mail
3pm to 4pmphone call from client. They called to inform me that they had received their acceptance letter from one of the companies, they had reviewed their application, made necessary changes, and returned it to the company. They also wished me a happy thanksgiving and set an appointment to purchase additional coverage next week.
4pm to 5pmquick stop into best buy to return unnecessary electronics that I had purchased for mega meetings.
5pm to 6pmquick stop at wawa for coffee and home for the day.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Another good question. I was looking for a job on the internet and asked the gentleman next to me what he did for a living. He told me and I said, “Oooh, that’s the company with the duck!!”

What was the application process?
The gentleman gave me the number to the office where he worked. I contacted them and they explained the licensing process.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I think I had either three or four interviews and a number of career orientation classes and then a more traditional sales school explaining the job in more detail and offering scripts of what other successful agents have used in the past to communicate with their clients.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Oh my, so many questions. What kind of a background do you have? How much money do you need to make? They also had us fill out a survey of various other similar questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel very prepared. Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Lots of training! My industry offers ongoing training and requires additional continuing education.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not entirely. Most of what I use on a daily basis stems from the ability to communicate with others and to understand what is going on in their lives. A basic understanding of math and english are helpful. A second language will also give you a competitive edge.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
AW… the ability to put someone else’s needs ahead of your own is key. Other important steps include becoming licensed. Some companies require a background slash credit check and/or fingerprints.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, the ability to work independently, patience with yourself and others

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think some of the most valuable training I have received has come from my field time. The classroom training shows us how things are generally supposed to work in a perfect world, which does not always hold true in reality.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
patience. People have told me that after the first couple of years things do get easier here because you can network with other professionals to generate leads and receive referrals. The industry ultimately offers freedom to build a practice of your own and to improve quality of life for your clients.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I do plan to continue with insurance, yes.

What are your current career goals?
Increased productivity, possibly earning different industry designations. More of the same.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nope

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1volunteer6 monthsnonei offered my time free of charge.
Prior Job 2nanny1 yearvariedI babysat, both part time or full time.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
some
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.