Executive Legal Secretary (Female, Age 51) in Houston, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 51 who works as a Executive Legal Secretary in Houston, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleExecutive Legal Secretary
Salary$90,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHouston, NY
Years Experience20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I assist attorneys with everything involved in assisting our clients’ needs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Draft and file (with the court) all legal Motions and correspondence; maintain client files; calendar all upcoming trial dates, depositions, and deadlines; administrative duties including attorneys’ time entry, travel reservations, expense reporting.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
6 weeks vacation; full medical and dental insurance; 401K with 6% match; small pension; free parking and/or bus pass.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated for my very hard work.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCheck for e-mails from either boss (Partner and Associate). Continue revisions to Motion for Trial Reset from last night. Confer with Partner regarding travel plans for tomorrow. Confer with Associate regarding questions on Motion to Withdraw Deposit.
8am to 9amCall court regarding submission docket for Motion. Finalize Motion to Withdraw Deposit and bring to messenger to file with Court; confer with Associate regarding timing of filing of Motion to Exclude – assist Associate in deciphering Partner’s handwritten changes.
9am to 10amBegin drafting Responses to Requests for Disclosures; Remind Partner about filing Motion to Enter Agreed Judgment; discuss travel arrangements with Partner.
10am to 11amDiscuss Motion to Exclude with Associate – when will it be filed? Who will finalize Table of Authorities? Discuss motions opposing counsel will file next week and our timetable for responding.
11am to 12pmGo to administrative floor for supplies; drop off color copy job to Reprographics; mail out copies of Motion to Withdraw Deposit.
12pm to 1pmPartner and Associate are at lunch – play catch up – go through mail; make copies of some mail items for other attorneys; calendar items; file.
1pm to 2pmGet instructions regarding upcoming telephone calls while Associate is in meeting. Enter time for Associate and Partner.
2pm to 3pmInstigate a “conflicts” check for potential new client; begin drafting Contingency Fee Engagement Letter (for new client); go through “temporary time” lists tranferring time to current clients; deal with financial services on same.
3pm to 4pmDiscussions with Partner on procedure to begin clearing out old cases; scan and e-mail color schematics, leases, etc. for forwarding to appraiser.
4pm to 5pmCopy and bates label over 100 documents in preparation for production to opposing counsel.
5pm to 6pmRunning out of steam . . . if there are no crises and everything has been filed and mailed that needed to be filed and mailed, I’m going home!
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.