Director, Shakti Dance Company (Female, Age 37) in Memphis, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Director, Shakti Dance Company in Memphis, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDirector, Shakti Dance Company
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMemphis, TN
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am Director of Shakti Dance Company, a world fusion dance company in Memphis TN. I teach three levels of classes as well as private individual instruction, and run a professional dance troupe that does public performances.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Lesson plans, marketing of the company, teaching, choreographing, leading the troupe, music, video, and photo editing, and so much more

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none – this is all independently done

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love and performing dance, and sharing this beautiful art form. It is a wonderful creative outlet.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We work out of two studios, and also out of our home. The studio is a great place to create art.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amCheck email, answer all inquiries for gigs, prospective students, current students. Type up class and choreography notes to send to troupe members. Send troupe dancers gig assignments. Work on lesson plans for this week.
9am to 10amWork on music editing for upcoming shows. Burn new cds for class and for gigs. Research new costuming options. Review photos for upcoming marketing, flyers and promo dvds.
10am to 11amDance time in home studio. Stretch, review dances for classes this week. Work on new choreographies.
11am to 12pmContinue working on new choreos. Write down notations for new dances.
12pm to 1pmPhone meeting with assistant director, updating on upcoming gigs, lesson plans, costuming, to-do lists, etc.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pmGet dressed for classes, get dance bag and all teaching materials ready. Go to studio.
5pm to 6pmPrepare studio for class, prep music, stretch, etc. Return business phone calls.
6pm to 7pmClass 1 – beginners.
7pm to 8pmClass 2 – int & choreo
8pm to 9pmTroupe rehearsal time.
9pm to 10pmDo accounting for evening, shut down & close up studio and go home.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I started my own company

What was the application process?
there was not one

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
my former instructors properly trained me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
An entire lifetime of dance training, and eleven years of style-specific training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Study dance for at least ten years, with every instructor you can study with, in every style. When you find your specialized style/field, train for at least another five years in that specific area.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Dance skills, knowledge of the body, anatomy and physiology, entertainment/people skills, organizational skills, and a strong sense of artistic integrity.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
YES

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Study and train for a LONG time before you try to teach anyone dance!!!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
to continue to grow, learn, and educate this beautiful art form

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a wonderful area, and one that you must be very dedicated to.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Cosmetology schoolCosmetology license
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.