Post Doctoral Fellow 

(Female, Age 31) from Baltimore, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Post Doctoral Fellow in Baltimore, MD. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Post Doctoral Fellow
Salary $30,500
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Baltimore, MD
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I Work as a Post Doctoral Fellow for Johns Hopkins University. It is America’s first reseaarch Institute. It is one amont the largest educational Institution for both Under Graduate and Graduate programs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work as a post doctoral fellow. Iam considered as a staff of JHU. I do full term research in Chemistry under the guidence of the Proffessor. My duties include working on the current research and do the things my boss asks me to do and also practice my own research. My responsiblities include taking care of the instruments, ordering and purchasing chemicals and glasswares for the lab.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
JHU health insurance (Atenna)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am Got in for work at 9.45 am. Spend few minutes cleaning up the dest and the work area
10am to 11am Started doing some research work, which I donot like to disclose
11am to 12pm One of the instrument was giving trouble. Called one of my co-worker for help. We both started to look into what the problem woould be. This includes reading the manual, opening up the instrument to see if something has goen wrong.
12pm to 1pm We found that one of the valve has gone bad. So tried calling the company, where we usually order it from. Got to wait for the quote.
1pm to 2pm Had lunch on the desk. Snacked on something and by the time recieved the email with the quote. So called the company again to place the order.
2pm to 3pm Sat down to read some materials and at the same time doing some research work
3pm to 4pm Had to walk five minutes to grab a coffee and got back to the research work
4pm to 5pm Research work again and some discussion with the boss for 12-15 minutes
5pm to 6pm Started finishing up the days work. I lillte internet browsing and reading.
6pm to 7pm Got to the end of the day. Had to leave. Left for home at 6.35 pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.