President (Female, Age 56) in Cambridge, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 56 who works as a President in Cambridge, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title President
Salary $100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location Cambridge, MA
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
sole proprietorship: research and product development consulting to K-12 publishers, developers, and schools on effective uses of new and emerging technologies in context of traditional resources.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
networking to form and find consulting projects, working out and negotiating an agreement with the client including the scope and pricing of the work, pulling together a team if additional expertise beyond myself is required, managing team if applicable and carrying out the work of the project and making deliverables as outlined in agreement.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
flexibility in times of day and days working

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated — there is large upheaval in the K-12 publishing world and the market is full of consultants

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am dealt with email — mix of personal and professional
8am to 9am dealt with financials and online banking — set up pay bill account and sent direct online payment to our work-for-hire’s account; did personal online banking bill pay as well; called credit card company re recurring payment question; called Fast Lane to find out account information and deal with mistaken billing.
9am to 10am re online product development: researched and tried out technicalities for image saving, cropping, and resizing; began constructing outline to pass on to work-for-hire including criteria for image selection and URL reference, procedures for creating different sizes of the same images…
10am to 11am continued testing out tools and how-to’s for image cropping and resizing; continued writing outline to pass on to worker.
11am to 12pm Checked in with a colleague about technicalities for image work. Got reference of an expert in this area. Continued networking with colleague giving him a reference for expertise in educational gaming. Called image reference to cross check on procedures and technicalities.
12pm to 1pm Spoke with product development partner on the phone giving feedback on wireframe product specifications and further working out features/functionality. Updated each other on additional to do’s including legal agreement, potential communications intern, and work-for-hire doing the content data base for the product.
1pm to 2pm had a quick bite to eat, shower, housework; went to meeting at a coffee shop
2pm to 3pm follow-up meeting with a person I met at a conference the week before; discussed their start-up company and online product; she gave me a demo; touched on possible follow-up consulting I might do with them; did a next-step check before leaving
3pm to 4pm dealt with arrangements regarding a webcast I’ll be hosting next week and a presentation I’ll be giving at a conference next month
4pm to 5pm helped my son with his resume via phone and email
5pm to 6pm gathered info online — including travel arrangements, news and professional info sites, other sites doing similar types of things as the product we’re working on
6pm to 7pm made dinner and did further resume revisions with my son
7pm to 8pm had friend over for dinner and evening
8pm to 9pm personal time
9pm to 10pm personal time
10pm to 11pm back on computer doing email, checking into resources for work
11pm to 12am continued online perusing