Senior Accountant (Female, Age 28) in Atlanta, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Senior Accountant in Atlanta, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Senior Accountant
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Atlanta, GA
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Broadcasting and communications company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Review staff accountants journal entries, reconciliations. Provide analysis on monthly and quarterly financial results. Accounts for contractors and capitalized labor.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
three weeks paid vacation/sick leave, United health care, retirement plan, 401K,stock options

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes – I enjoy working and collaborating with my direct reports as well as those outside of my group. Key success is understanding the business of the groups I support. Strong business relationships with operational managers is key to providing value added reporting

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Provide feedback to staff and work to develope staff career

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 8
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am N/A
8am to 9am Review weekly outlook calendar, schedule meetings, review list of open items. Prepare daily and weekly to do list.
9am to 10am Complete final review of balance sheet reconciliations. Includes ensuring balance and activity on staff recs tie to the general ledger and any outstanding/reconciling items are easily identified and a plan to correct is clearly stated.
10am to 11am Meeting with boss about weekly to do and action items. Review topics discussed in manager meeting
11am to 12pm Meet with reporting team to discuss clean up of unused reports on the server. Devise a plan to correct by month end. Form an excel spreadsheet of all scopes and reports and assign to a team. Draft an email to each manager asking them to tag reports currently used.
12pm to 1pm LUNCH
1pm to 2pm Meet with staff to discuss week’s agenda. Form a plan to complete all open items and assist in providing guidance in areas of doubt. Field and follow up on staff questions.
2pm to 3pm Schedule forecast meetings with operations. Follow up on cell phone audit with manager. Research unknown cell phone numbers and contact strategic sourcing to identify.
3pm to 4pm Review changes with Staff on process documentations. Review process documentation of Staff. Explain changes and ask for a correction by wednesday. Follow up on any questions from staff regarding changes
4pm to 5pm Prepare journal entries for monthly close. Use reporting platform to copy previous month journal entries and update with current month estimates. Upload into system. Give to manager for review
5pm to 6pm Tie out contractor expense to the general ledger. Retreive emails and excel files from operations. Work with capital team on any entries unposted. Ensure all entries are posted by the end of the day. Run query from reporting platform to ensure all entries are posted.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
company website

What was the application process?
submit resume online, recruiter contact, recruiter interview, manager interview, controller interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, interview w/ recruiter (internal), two interviews with potential future manager, final interview with department head (controller)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What skills would make you successful in this position? Why are you seeking this position? What are your strengths? What are your weeknesses? Describe an uncomfortable coworker situation and how did you over-come it? What is an asset? What is a liability

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
On job training – yes, its a hands on, learn as you go environment. Workign well with others and my team yeilded proper training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
College degree education, otherwise, on the job training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, all accounting and finance principles were applied in real world setting

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, learned how to work in a company and others. Also learned cash flow perspective of a bank.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
contact career website and HR department/recruiting department

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Accounting and finance degree, proficient in excel and microsoft platform, team oriented, well rounded, organized, integrity, honesty

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes – college degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The company and your job will return to you what you are willing to put forth.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – It is the career path I have chosen and enjoy accounting work and managing especially. I like to think outside of the box which is highly desired in accounting and finance. I am unique to the department and feel very satisfied with my work here .

What are your current career goals?
Continue on management ladder. Ultimately, would like to be controller of a department

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love my job!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 intern 3 months 5.50/hour Interned in the cash management department of bank. Reconciled loan accounts and amortizations and cash flow
Prior Job 2 Clerk 2 5.5/hr Cash register of retail baby consignment chain. Assisted customers and completed their transactions.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.1

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 UGA Banking and Finance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.