Deli Service Leader (Female, Age 25) in Bangor, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Deli Service Leader in Bangor, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDeli Service Leader
Salary$29,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBangor, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a deli in a large grocery store, part of a large chain throughout New England.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide tasks and goals for deli associates, run the deli in the absence of management, make sure deli is fully stocked, cook chicken, slice product.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability pay, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others every second of every day. I don’t dislike it, but there are some who I’d rather not work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a large deli inside a grocery store. I like it because there are many people, many departments to interact with.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMy shifts vary, eight hour shifts starting anywhere between 5:00am and 2:00 pm.

Home

8am to 9amHome
9am to 10amHome
10am to 11amHome
11am to 12pmHome
12pm to 1pmHome
1pm to 2pmLeave for work at 1:30.
2pm to 3pmCheck temperatures on all hot and cold product. Hot must me 140*F or more, cold must be 40*F or less. Check all hot chicken, replenish as needed. Wash some dishes.
3pm to 4pmPull expired sandwiches and salads, restock if available. Make sure last batch of roaster chicken is cooking. Keep hot chicken, and salad bar full. Take a break.
4pm to 5pmKeep hot chicken and salad bar full. Begin cleaning behind the counter, catch up on dishes, help customers as needed. Make sure associates are beginning to clean for close.
5pm to 6pmFill hot food, begin cleaning friolator, prepare cleaning materials for salad bar, hot foods (soup), olive bar, and wing bar.
6pm to 7pmStart self cleaning chicken roaster, break down hot foods, and olive bar. Lunch at 6:30-7:00.
7pm to 8pmBreak down salad bar and wing bar, do dishes, clean counters.
8pm to 9pmClean outside of chicken roaster, and touch up the inside. Change all trash, sweep floor. Take a break.
9pm to 10pmMop floor, pull all product forward, make sure items that expire the next day are pulled, make sure associates have finished their cleaning. Send associates home when they’re finished. I leave at ten.
10pm to 11pmHome
11pm to 12amHome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walk in

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview with the deli manager, one with the store manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Generic questions like, have you ever been fired, been caught stealing, are you a felon. I can’t remember much more, as it was three years ago.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had good training and was very close to my original assistant manager.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
A class in how to train others.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I regretfully did not attend college, but this job is not hard, and needed very little training.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Fill out an application at the service desk, and hand it directly to the deli manager.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The biggest skill you need in this and most other positions is to have people skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High school graduate would be advantageous.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Customers come first, no matter what.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am currently lacking much of a career plan.

What are your current career goals?
If I decide to stay here, I would like to be management.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Although it’s not very fulfilling, it’s a good, stable job with better benefits than most companies.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CashierOne Year20000Cashier and customer service
Prior Job 2Deli Associate1.5 years25000Customer service

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.