Service Tech. (Male, Age 48) in Fenton, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 48 who works as a Service Tech. in Fenton, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleService Tech.
Salary$53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFenton, MI
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Alarms/camera systems. They have two offices and around one hundred employees.

We install sometimes complicated systems usually for banks or schools.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I fix and install security systems including cameras, eye, hand identification pads, etc.

I also program (via laptop) security panels to a central station.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Six days sick, three personal days and two weeks vacation. Health insurance and 401K.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
average compensation

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
At times I will work with one other person which I don’t mind but not very often. I always work in a public building with others around me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In the field always.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found out about this job from a temp. agency and appllied directly to the company.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume to human resources.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview and was hired on the spot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Experience, systems and pay.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I knew from the start what I was going to be doing.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really, I just have a lot of experience in the field.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I don’t have any education in this field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To get licensed in fire which some companies seem to want. Keep looking for the best pay and benfits.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills the most and experience is a plus.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Just a lot of training and experience.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Patience and perseverance. Experience in this field is part of negotiating pay.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I would most likely never move up in this company. I continue to look elsewhere.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to go elsewhere for a more challenging position and pay.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
None.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Project Manager15 years55000Managed several jobs at once. Oversaw two other employees.
Prior Job 2Service Tech.2 years40000Fixed security systems.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Vocational Tech. SchoolCad/Cam Certificate
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)