Special Education Resource Teacher (Female, Age 52) in Mt. Prospect, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Special Education Resource Teacher in Mt. Prospect, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSpecial Education Resource Teacher
Salary$46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMt. Prospect, IL
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
elementary school – 500 students grades K-4

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide help in 3rd grade classrooms for students identified with a learning disability. Casemanager for 8 students but also assist other students in 3rd grade. Work with classroom teacher to provide accommodations, or changes in homework or tests along with giving individual assistance during class.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
teachers retirement plan, health insurance is expensive, 2 personal days, lots of days off plus summer off

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
compared to other school districts I am under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDrive to work
8am to 9am8-8:20 Work in back of room with 4 3rd grade students. Review spelling for week and individual sight words on cards. 8:20-9:20 Assist in 2nd grade classroom. Go over sight words with 4 identified 2nd graders. Assist all students in language arts worksheet by moving around room to assist.
9am to 10am9:25-9:45 Take 3 classes out to recess and oversee. `
10am to 11am9:45-11:00 Go to different 3rd grade classroom where I have 3 students on caseload. Students separated into three groups. Work at station on poetry at back table. Students read poems then complete their own acrostic poems on the word flower. Groups change stations every 25 minutes.
11am to 12pm11:00-11:50 lunch 11:50-12:10 Give spelling test to 3rd graders in back of room.
12pm to 1pm12:10-12:30 Meet with assistant to review what will be done with students. 12:30-12:50 Meet with 3rd grade teacher to discuss students in class and problems they may be having.
1pm to 2pm12:50-2:10 Assist in 3rd grade class. Student complete math worksheets in math book.
2pm to 3pm2:15-3:10 Meet with 3rd grade team to discuss lesson plans for following week and who lessons will be covered.
3pm to 4pm3:30 – home
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.