Inquirer Scouting Coordinator (Female, Age 29) in Newnan, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Inquirer Scouting Coordinator in Newnan, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleInquirer Scouting Coordinator
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNewnan, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
OM is an international missionary sending organization. We are non-denominational and have workers in over 100 countries. Currently we have missionaries from over 90 nations. Our organization size is 5500 people from around the world.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work with Americans who are interested in becoming long-term missionaries. I work with them in the early stages of their interest, answering their detailed questions (about missions, raising support, telling them the possibilities with OM). I also fill a “coach” role helping them process where they are and where they want to go. I am generally a missions educator, which I do over the phone and email. I also oversee all the trianing of new missionaries here in the USA with OM.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, 30 sick days, health insurance, vision and dental. optional 501c3 but OM does not contribute.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with people on a regular basis. I have a team of 6 people and then I interact on the phone with about 20-30 different people a day who are interested in or considering becoming overseas missionaries. I love my job because I get to be a teacher over the phone or email. I share my own story of my journey into missions and then connect with others. I love teaching, so it’s a great fit. I also love that the teaching/conversations normally don’t last longer than 1 hour at a time. I am an introvert, so talking for longer than an hour is too much for me. The thing that I disklike about my job is that sometimes I do have to talk to weirdos or people who really shouldn’t be considering missions. In situations like that, I have a hard time emotionally to tell them “no” they can’t move forward with OM.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Our USA office employs about 100 people. My particular team of 7 works mainly in cubicles. WE’re the only team in our office that has cubicles. Everyone else has separate offices. I dislike the cubicles because they are noisy and sometimes it’s hard to talk on the phone with all the noise around me. But I like the cubicles because it keeps communication with the rest of my team very open. It keeps our team very close-knit and in each others business, which is vital for what we do working with people.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up. Shower and get dressed. Casual dress code – jeans are OK. Be in the car by 8 for the 20-30 minute drive to the office.
8am to 9amArrive by 8:30. Team Devotion time (either a Bible study, guest speaker, pastor or team member shares from the Bible or shares a “skill” that is helpful – continual education type topic). Team devotion until 9:15.
9am to 10am9:15-10:30 usually have a meeting as our Placement Department (7 of us who work with Americans who want to become missionaries overseas). Tuesday meetings (the day I’m describing) we discuss business-related issues. If we have questions about a person we’re working with, need team insight or need to discuss a particular policy as a team, we do it here.
10am to 11amHead to my desk to check emails for the first time. I sort through all of the emails from my inquirers. Usually on a Tuesday there are between 10-20 responses from people I’m already working with, plus 3-8 new inquirers that came in overnight. I sort them according to importance and how I need to respond. New inquirers are delegated (by me) to either myself or my co-worker. Spend time responding to emails, answering people’s questions and sending relevant resources.
11am to 12pmContinue to answer emails and any voicemails I’ve had. Again, sending resources, detailed answers to their questions, valuable information about locations wher ethey can serve, etc.
12pm to 1pmLunch.
1pm to 2pmUsually take a quick break and walk to the mail room, stop by co-workers’ offices to say hi. Then head back to my desk to continue answering emails and talking with people on the phone. Some phone conversations take place at this time – normally lasting 30-45 minutes, with an inquirer regarding missions.
2pm to 3pmBy this time I’ve caught up (usually) with my emails. I then look to my database of inquirers which “tells” me who I need to proactively follow up with based on the dates of last contact. I contact each inquirer for the day’s “list” with either a basic email or phone call, which usually goes to voicemail.
3pm to 4pmCOntinue following up with people in the database. Look at any other projects I’m working on in addition to my job (such as the training conference for our new missionaries, which I oversee).
4pm to 5pm4:30 drive home!
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmOccassionaly I will have a scheduled evening phone call with an inquirer who, for whatever reason, is absolutely not available to talk during the daytime hours (usually do to their work schedule or the time zone differences between the east and west coast).
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend referred me to OM when I was in college

What was the application process?
Submitted application, references, personality assessment, attending training conference, raised support

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Not formally, no, but that’s because I was already in the organization. If I’d been an outsider coming into OM for the first time, the job would have involved a face to face interview with my supervisor and his VP.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Again, I didn’t formally interview for this position. N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I knew what I was getting into with this job because my employer let me “try it out” for 1 month with no obligation to keep the job if I didn’t like it. The 1 month trial was great because it helped me have realistic expectations once I took the job full-time.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I had to learn how to use the contact management database system as well as basic Outlook and Excel programs. There was a lot of on the job learning about the different countries where OM works, who works there, what the missionaries are involved in, etc. The “database” that you have to keep in your head of over 100 countries is the biggest part of the training you need for this job. But it’s always good to continue learning, even after doing it 2 years – things overseas are constantly changing and I have to keep up with the new things going on.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I went to college which taught me people and teaching skills. Those are the skills I use the most in my job. But you could learn people and teaching skills without a degree.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Absolutely.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Call up Operation MObilization or a similar organization and ask how you can get involved. Most mission organizations require that you raise support for your salary, so that’s something you need to come to terms with emotionally before pursuing the job too much. Otherwise, the non-profit/religious sector of the work force is generally always in need of people, so just start looking around, asking and finding an organization that’s right for you!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational Skills. People skills. Relatable personally. Somewhat task focused. Easy to get along with. Encouraging. Able to work at a steady pace.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
There is a high level of on-the job training, but you don’t need a college degree to do it.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ready to learn a lot in the beginning and stay flexible while you learn. It’s important to learn to say “no” to inquirers and to ask hard questions. THis can be uncomfortable for certain personalities but in the end it’s helpful for you and your team. DOn’t be afraid to ask questions.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I’ve been with OM for 7 years now, and I plan to stay with them for the future. Currently I get to travel a lot and visit missionaries around the world. Eventually we’d like to move overseas again. Working where I am exposes me to everything going on in OM ministry wise, and it’s strategic to know that for our future ministry decisions.

What are your current career goals?
Eventually we’d like to move overseas again as missionaries and run a training and ministry program that prepares young/new missionaries for long-term missionary service.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1College Mobilizer1.5 years15000Traveled to universities around the country and mobilized Christian students to get involved in missions.
Prior Job 2Missionary4 years12000Missionary in Eastern European country. Chidlren’s Ministry. Training. COmmunications.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8University of GeorgiaBS CHild and Family Development
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.