Membership Reseach Assistant (Female, Age 29) in Washington, DC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Membership Reseach Assistant in Washington, DC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMembership Reseach Assistant
Salary$33,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37.5
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWashington, DC
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The non-profit I work at has approximately 20 people working there (it varies for instance in the summer we have interns). More specifically we deal with environmental issues. We are a small grassroots organization

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do prospect research which is research on potential donors. I also do research on our current members so that we have a better idea of the giving interests of the people who give to our organization. In addition I work a lot with our database and process credit cards.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
three weeks of vacation, four weeks of sick time, Carefirst health insurance and a 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am compensated adequately and it is within the normal range for the sector I am in

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others on a daily basis. I work with the two other assistants who have slightly different duties. I like that I get to interact with people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work with my supervisor on grant proposals and coming up with ideas for prospect research. I work with my coworkers on a wide variety of things, database management and technical things.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amArrive at work. Deal with call from tech support over our ongoing technical issue. Go into weekly meeting.
10am to 11amWeekly meeting lasts until about 10:15. Return to desk and start looking up phone numbers for supervisor. Then start doing research on current lists of prospects.
11am to 12pmContinue with the list of prospects and file information that has been collected. Second phone call of the day with technical support. Problem is finally resolved. Send email to Executive Director informing him of this development.
12pm to 1pmEnter the donor information into the Excel spreadsheet. Email boss the information that she wants. Receive email back. Take phone call from prospective donor.
1pm to 2pmLunch break
2pm to 3pmDo the research that boss has asked me to do. This takes precedence over prospecting. Answer member phone calls.
3pm to 4pmEmail boss back the information since boss is out of town and unable to check shared network drive. Look at campaign contributions for prospects. Add that to the information that we already have on them.
4pm to 5pmProcess credit cards and finish the donor data entry. Ensure that the Excel file is neat and organized. Reply to co-worker’s email about the member query that was sent to me earlier.
5pm to 6pmGoing home time!
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found it on craigslist

What was the application process?
resume and cover letter

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one interview with the Executive Director and the then Development Associate. Then I was offered the job on the spot assuming my references checked out which they did.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do you want this position? What qualifications do you think that you have for this position? Mostly the standard questions. I don’t really remember it was a blur.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I think that this is very much a learn by doing sort of position

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
For the research part no. I was given a list of tools that would be helpful but it was very much a learning on the job type thing. For the database I was trained by the Membership Manager and go to her if I can’t figure something out.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really. I have a BA degree. I think it helped because it got people to look at my resume but my BA is in French so no.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend first of all that they get some fundraising experience. This can be helping their college make phone calls to alumni, or just something like working in retail to get a feel for how customers act. Donors are just customers with another name.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think that it helps to be organized. It also helps to be able to feel comfortable with databases because there will be a fair amount of data entry and it is just easier that way. They have to be comfortable on the phone.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not especially. I do know that there are a lot of places that would rather you have a BA but I am not sure that it is entirely necessary.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take advantage of any opportunities that you have for training. Ask questions if you don’t know the answers. If you see something that needs improving feel free to do it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. This was a step away from the admin positions so I think it is a plus.

What are your current career goals?
To end up as Director of Development.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Admin Assistant1 year25000Answering the phones, making appointments and arranging travel for people.In charge of ordering supplies
Prior Job 2Receptionist1 year25000Same as above but for a smaller company

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75University of VirginiaFrench BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.