Security Officer (Male, Age 37) in monessen, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 37 who works as a Security Officer in monessen, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Security Officer
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location monessen, PA
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a security company that employees twenty five to thirty guards, at any given time. We have different sites, so each one is different. We generally do asset protection, customer service, and any other service that each individual company may require.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am stationed at the entrance of a chemical plant. I greet incoming visitors and vendors, and do hourly patrols of the plant by vechicle. We serve as protection, theft deterent, and the first line of defense for the company when the facility is closed on weekends and non business hours.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
one week vacation, no medical insurance for myself or my family

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under. I am currently looking for a new position that includes medical coverage.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the vendors and visitors that come to the plant’s entrance. I do not have any coworkers during my shift, as there is only one guard required per shift. Although it may get boring at times, I do enjoy being by myself.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am in a small office, located at the front of a chemical plant. Although it is very small, I have all the amenities I may need. I have restroom facilities, small fridge, microwave, etc. I have definately worked at worse sites where less things were provided.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Called owner, had interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one interview with the sole owner of the company. It wasn’t very formal. Once he saw my experience that I already had in the field along with my military backround, he hired me that day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It was ten years ago, I really can’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My coworkers trained me, my employer had little to do with it. They showed me the ins and outs of the site, so to speak. The owner of the company takes more of a figure head role in the organization.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I am certified to carry a weapon, which varies from state to state. I took classroom and field traing for that. As far as training for the site that I am in right now, that was done in about a week by the person that was working there before me.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My military experience was more valuable here. I learned to adapt to any situation or person that came my way while serving in the Navy.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I have military experience, so that is what led me to the field of security to begin with. I have never been out of work, there is always a job to be had in this field. I would recommend that the person get act 235 certified, so they could carry a firearm. That leads to a better paying job. Other that that, cold call security agencies out of your local phone book.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization is important. The ablity to function by yourself without a supervisor or antoher employee to make decisions for you. If you are comfortable carrying a firearm, get the proper training there. An armed security officer will always command a better salary.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Other than firearm certificaiton, there is minimal training required.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Research the security companies that are out there, and decide just how involved you want to become. The areas are endless. You can do private invesigator type work, or asset protection. Be prepared to protect just about anything ! I once worked at a garbage dump.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am looking for other employment that will get me into a secure benefits package. I recently became a father, so I am looking for a career that is long term with the benefits. If I found a postion in the security field that offered that, I would not leave this line of work.

What are your current career goals?
I would like a postition that values my experience more. I need to have insurance, vacation, personal time, the whole nine yards. I want a job that my daughter can be proud of.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not that I can think of right now.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 officer two years 19000 Private investigations. Dealt with child custody issues, marital issues, and loss prevention.
Prior Job 2 offiicer one year 15000 Asset protection for large chain department store. Apprehended shoplifters and dealt with internal theft.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.