Proofreader/Editor (Male, Age 58) in Hatboro, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 58 who works as a Proofreader/Editor in Hatboro, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProofreader/Editor
Salary$62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHatboro, PA
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
MRM Princeton is a division of MRM Worldwide. Worldwide, there are approximately 27,000 employees while locally there are 80 – 100. We do print ads, radio, TV and other kinds of adversing and also mail-order campaigns.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Read proofs of ads, check TV boards, listen to Radio commercials and make corrections when necessary. Also offer different ways to make sure deadlines are met and schedules are adhered to. Keep records of all jobs that are completed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
28 paid days off. United Healthcare Insurance. 401k plan that company contributes 3%.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Every day I have to work with traffic managers. They are the workers who bring the work to me and distribute it to other personnel at the agency. There are other personnel that I work alongside of including writers, art directors, medical editors and sometimes vice presidents of various departments. I like the way so many different types of people can join together as a team and I look forward to every day since there’s no telling what can happen at an advertising agency!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through a Temp Agency

What was the application process?
Submitted resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
First, I had to interview at the Temp Agency and take a written test. After passing that I was told to go to an Advertising Agency in Princeton, N.J. to work for a short time. After one week I was asked if I would be interested in coming on board as a full-time employee. The person who offered me the position explained to me that I would have to interview with the head of the Operations Department and I soon met with her on a one-on-one basis.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked where did I work before, where did I attend school, and what do I like about advertising. I was also asked if I minded working long hours occasionally and do I mind starting at 10:00 in the morning. Another important thing was would I be willing to work weekends when needed.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employer told me what to expect when I started and was very helpful getting me started. She introduced me to the people I would be working with and showed me the daily routine in the agency.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
The training involved for this position is experience with the written language. There are also proofreading courses that are given in various business schools.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My educational background helped prepare me but the main thing is the work experience I possessed when I started. The rest is what’s known as O.J.T. (On the JOB Training).

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I never did an internship but after working at an agency for so many years, I feel that an internship is a GREAT way to prepare for a career in advertising.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Try to take as many English courses as possible and read, read and in their spare time, read some more! Also take writing courses and observe how well others write. Think about being an intern at an agency during the summer when there are no classes to take.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are important since you will be working with so many different types of people. You should be well organized because there will be many different style guides for you to keep and update whenever necessary. Study grammar as much as possible and practice writing whenever there’s spare time.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
A college degree with a major in English would be ideal while a business degree would also be a good idea.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ready for some late nights and occasionally a very late night when there is a pitch for a new client the next day! Also be flexible with working schedules and don’t be afraid to change jobs if you hear about greener pastures somewhere else. Try to be adaptable to any change in working conditions or locations.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes and no. Currently I am satisfied where I am but the way the economy is going I’m not so sure about the life of an advertising agency at the present time or in the near future. It might be time to start a new career search very soon. In a way I’m looking forward to the possibility of a change.

What are your current career goals?
To earn more $$$ somewhere – if not where I am, then in another endeavor. I’m open for suggestions!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Yes – I recommend a career in advertising if an exciting job is what someone is looking for. Also, I look back fondly on my newspaper days and the experience I gained from it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Proofreader/Editor1 year44000Same as above.
Prior Job 2Advertising Sales Support Rep.23 years42000Similar as above with the only exception being lots of client contact. Also a lot of telephone work and corrections taken over the phone while meeting strict deadlines.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Kingsboro C.C.Business Adm. A.A.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.