Armed Security Officer (Male, Age 35) in burkburnett, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 35 who works as a Armed Security Officer in burkburnett, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleArmed Security Officer
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationburkburnett, TX
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Comanche Indians at their casino. The casino employs around 500 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties are to ensure the safety and well being of the casino staff and guest. I am also trained in medical assistance if an emergency should happen.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I receive 4 hours of sick leave and vacation earned every two weeks,have paid medical,dental and life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
It is one of the highest paying jobs in our area so,I am happy with what I make but,would always like more

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work around many different people from all walks of life and I love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a casino so,it is never boring. We always walk around and meet many different people.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI arrive at work at 7:45 am and clock in then go to the security office for a briefing on anything we need to look out for or know about the day.
8am to 9amI began my work day at 8am. I walked the premises of the casino to insure nothing was out of place and that their were no visible problems.
9am to 10amI continued to secure the area and to insure all was well. I also handled a small problem at one of the gaming machines that involved a malfunction.
10am to 11amI took my turn at the door to check ID’s and to answer any questions or problems that may arise from customers. This is a duty I take daily during my shift.
11am to 12pmI took my lunch then reported back to duty to help with money pulls which is where the machine techs empty the gaming machines of all their money and take it to the vault to be counted and reported. I walk with the tech to insure that no one tries to touch them or the money.
12pm to 1pmWhile walking the floor I tended to a customer with a complaint about another customer who had taken credit that was left on her machine while she used the restroom. The customer received her money back and the individual who took the credit knowing it was not theirs was asked to leave.
1pm to 2pmThis is a slow part of the day due to those who were here at lunch going back to work so,I ended up doing my report over the incident that had happened in the office.
2pm to 3pmI spent this hour once again walking the floor and then had a short meeting with the chief about my report and the incident that had happened.
3pm to 4pmThis is the part of the day that we do all reports and logs about the days happenings including all money pulls machine malfunctions and incidents. I turned in all my logs and reports to be filed and then clocked out to go home at 3:45
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found it in the newspaper

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume after doing a paper application at the casino.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes,I had an interview with the Chief and assistant Chief of the casino security department where we went over all my past experience,license and training.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How long have I been in the Security field,why I want the job and what my goal was in my career.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes,we have had numerous types of training since being employed such as SWAT type training to learn how to protect ourselves and customers from a robbery,medical emergency response,gun training and classes to identify types of drugs

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes,I am Oklahoma CLEET(Council of law enforcement education and training) certified in Armed security. I took three separate courses to earn my license. I have also been trained in medical response and proper arrest,take down procedures.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes,I was already certified when I started.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take the appropriate law enforcement classes to get a license and then search for the job with the best benefits and pay

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The number one skill you need in this line of work is People skills hands down. You must be able to handle anything and keep people calm.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes,you need many types of Law enforcement classes such as self defence,proper arrest techniques

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen to all the advice given to you by those who have been in the job for awhile. It will help you learn right from wrong

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes,I love my job and it pays more than almost any company in the area.

What are your current career goals?
To raise myself to a higher position in the company with more responsibility.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a very fulfilling job that never gets boring.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Armed security officer6+ years27000I protect the casino customers,employees and assets by protecting them from theft and harm.
Prior Job 2Armed security officer1 year20000I patrolled many businesses in the Oklahoma City area and also did domestic calls.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Community college/VotechCLEET 1.2 &4
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.