Associate Tax Accountant 

(Female, Age 35) from Madison, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Associate Tax Accountant in Madison, WI. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Associate Tax Accountant
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Madison, WI
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a company that provides landline and cellular telephone services. I work in the tax department – private tax accounting. We prepare around 300 corporate tax returns each year

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assist in prepration of corporate tax returns.Document imaging of returns for records retention and SOX requirements

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, 401K, tution reimbursement, stock purchase

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
average compensation

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I generally work on my own, but as part of a larger group. There are times when we do projects together. I also provide assistance to other departments and business units, so yes, I do work with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Larger office professional building (for the size of the city I live in)Top of the line computer and software

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with two of my managers, as well as the VP of tax

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – the training is ongoing and changes as tax laws change

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Somewhat. I trained with co-workers and my job was actually created for me – it didn’t exist before me, so we developed it together.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat, although accounting coursework is not all that specific to corporate tax

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
College coursework

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
attention to detail, understanding of tax laws (in various states, as well as federally) Ability to work under extremely time sensitive deadlines

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not necessarily

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Patience, positive attitude and accuracy

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it has been very helpful and relative towards the degree I am pursuing

What are your current career goals?
I hope to continue on to obtain my CPA and Masters degree. Eventually I would like to be a contractor and work from my home

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Associate Tax Acoountant six years 35000 Assist in the preparation of corporate tax returns, including consolidated, unitary and separate filing state returns
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 Lakeland college Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.