Loan Officer (Female, Age 28) in broken arrow, OK

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Loan Officer in broken arrow, OK. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLoan Officer
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbroken arrow, OK
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Financial lending

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Data entry,cashiering,customer service,filing,collecting,servicing accounts,taking applications,underwriting loans,closing loans

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical,dental,stock,oppurtunities of bonus

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes,about a 4 person office we depend on each other,great environment

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 9
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am8:00 come in get my coffee ask coworkers about day and check my email

my day isn’t set so at any of these times I could be closing a loan or two so we just work around it all day,you have to be able to adapt

8am to 9am8:20 if working in cash drawer count money make sure it is all still there open my day

8:25 morning meeting to plan for day

8:30 start time,look at my pending applications for undecisioned customers,call and see if we can schedule or if still interested and thinkin about it.

9am to 10am9am call past due late account and see what I can do to help

this goes on till about 11 in the mean time I take payments from customers,offer them additional funds,or whatever promotion we have going on ,when customer leaves go back to calling past due accounts

10am to 11am11 am take lunch I am an early eater,but we can go whenever

11am to 12pm12 am come back from lunch

mail has arrived go through mail and pull out payments post those and get deposit ready

12pm to 1pm1pm go through my paperwork make sure loan files all broken down,and so on

1:30 go into my follow ups of my customers that know me and do thankyou calls to my good customers seeing if they need anything

1pm to 2pmstill calling,I have been there 6 years so I am popular
2pm to 3pmI am usually closing a loan at this time,and will be for the rest of the day people try to take off early and come in so a busy time
3pm to 4pmsame here or payments
4pm to 5pmagain phone,payments,loans yay
5pm to 6pmbalance down my cash drawer get deposit ready and go home at 5:30 best that I could describe it ,it can change from day to day
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral,my dad knew someone in finance

What was the application process?
We have changed since to submitting application online,then fax resume,then test,then interview if pass

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes at least 3 times.I interviewed with the person my father knew,then the district manager,then the manager who needed someone in his branch.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
na/can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Oh yes,I think the previous question answers that

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes,at the time I was hired it was part in the computer,part bookwork,and mentoring.Now it is mainly online,with mentoring from your manager and peers as you grow within the company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
oh,yes I knew I wanted something in business.Typing,and computer classes helped along with votech

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Sales experience and Customer Service is a must,a degree in business or finance helps.I worked in retail for many years,then branched up to customer service for call centers,and such then branched up to my current job,and worked up in the company

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Sales,Socail Skills,Organizational skills,Mathmatical,High School Diploma or higher

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High School Diploma or higher

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen,Take time to find out peoples needs and this will help you know what to offer

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes,I like what I do and plan to continue this until I retire or have children,and even then might do it part time.

What are your current career goals?
Work up through my company to branch manager

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s a great job for the right person

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1customer service rep/also fraud rep1yr22000I started as a customer service rep for a credit card company,answering calls helping cusotmers.Then I moved to the fraud dept to help customers who had experienced fraud with their account
Prior Job 2Customer Service rep1y20000Again did the same thing serviced customers with a credit card account

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.