Banquet Captain 

(Male, Age 24) from Houston, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Banquet Captain in Houston, TX. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Banquet Captain
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Houston, TX
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am currently employed at the Hilton Garden Inn – Westbelt

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As Banquet Captain I am resposible for setting up banquets and other events based on an order slip provided to me by the hotels sales office. I’m also responsible for maitaining the meeting rooms and ballrooms, training new hires, and directing other banquet servers during events.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 weeks paid vacation, Medical, dental, and vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I usually arrive between the hours of 7am and 8am depending on the starting time of the days event(s). I clock in and sign out the necessary keys from the front desk.
8am to 9am I do a walk through of the meeting space that is going to be used and make sure it is clean and ready to be set up, thats if I have not already done so the previous evening. Depending on the size of the meeting/event it may take me an hour to ten hours to set up. Usually they dont take more than an hour though.
9am to 10am Once i’ve set up the necessary tables, chairs, table cloths, drink stations, and or food, I get in touch with the front desk and inform them of the days events. I then wait for the guests to arrive and communicate with the person in charge on wether everything is set up to their specifications.
10am to 11am After speaking to the person in charge of the event I then head over to the sales office and inform the Director of Sales and the Sales Manager that the event is taken care of. If there are any new upcoming events this is usually the time im told about them, besides being emailed. I then walk to the main entrance of the hotel and direct the events guests to the proper room.
11am to 12pm If the event requires lunch, I usually start seeting it up around 11am in order for it to be ready by noon. If they do not require lunch. I will still check on them through out the day to make sure everything is okay.
12pm to 1pm If time permits I will spend the rest of the day, at least until 5pm, setting up for upcoming events.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm If the event is still in session, i will check on them one last time before informing the sales office that im am going to be leaving, for I have class in the evening. If the event has not ended by this time or if it has but I haven’t had time to clean up, then I will have to return after class. I then clock out and return my keys to the front desk.
5pm to 6pm By 5:30 pm I am sitting at my desk at school.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm 7pm. Im out of school. If I need to return to the hotel I will do so. If not then I go home.
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.