Medical Office Coordinator (Female, Age 26) in Columbus, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Medical Office Coordinator in Columbus, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Office Coordinator
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationColumbus, OH
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a general Ophthalmology practice, there are about 6 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle all office procedures, including answering phones and scheduling appointments, as well as handling billing to insurance companies and patients and answering questions

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Just a quarterly bouns

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am well compensated with pay but not with benefits.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with patients every day and I love it because most of them are very enjoyable and are very nice to me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a suite in an office builiding and it is in a nice area. I have no complaints.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDriving to work
8am to 9amArrived at work at 8 am, got charts ready for the morning patients, made coffee, answered phone calls for patients scheduling appointments.
9am to 10amPatients start coming in, I take their demographic info and prepare their chart for the doctor
10am to 11amStill seeing patients and checking them in while answering phone calls and checking patients out of the office after their appointments.
11am to 12pmFinishing up with patients for the day, closing financial day sheet and reconciling all charges and payments.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmDoctor is out of the office, pulling charts for next week and putting the correct paperwork on them for office visit notes and charges.
2pm to 3pmCalling patients for the next office day’s appointments to remind them, still answering calls from patients and tending to patients that walk in to schedule appointments.
3pm to 4pmGetting ready to close office for weekend, clean out coffee pot, turn off all machines in exam rooms, set phone to answering machine
4pm to 5pmoffice closed
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Craigslist.org

What was the application process?
I emailed my resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes they called me for an interview, I interviewed with the doctor and his current office manager. They offered me the job the same day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked a lot of questions about my previous experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they told me everything they possibly could. There are just some things that you can’t train until it happens.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
The only training was getting me familiar with all of the office procedures and software and the doctor’s preferences.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, my education really doesn’t have anything to do with what I am doing.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Learn medical terminology and be familiar with health insurance company procedures.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization is a huge part of it, as well as being able to deal with difficult people, because sick people are usually not happy people. You also have to be able to multi-task and still accomplish a good deal of work. It is also helpful to be able to stand your ground because dealing with insurance companies is sometimes very difficult.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not necessarilly formal education, just experience is helpful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just to be patient with patients and always act cheerful.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is part because it is giving me experience dealing with a certain sector of healthcare. I am in nursing school right now so it will come in handy down the road.

What are your current career goals?
I plan on finishing nursing school with my BSN and continuing on to get my master’s in some health field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I feel that I’ve made it pretty far in my career without formal schooling, and I am thankful that I waited to go to school until I had more formal work experience.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Executive Administrative Assistant3 years28000I was the assistant for 3 Vice Presidents of the company, and I also filled in for the chairman and president’s assistants.
Prior Job 2Office Manager1.5 years25000Running physician office

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4Columbus State Community CollegeNursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.