Service Desk Analyst (Female, Age 33) in TALLAHASSEE, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Service Desk Analyst in TALLAHASSEE, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleService Desk Analyst
Salary$36,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTALLAHASSEE, FL
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
My employer, HCA, owns mulitple hospitals worldwide. There are over 200 hospitals in the US. They employee 50,000+ people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work on the IT Helpdesk. I provide support to users with computer problems. I escallate issues that I cannot resolve myself.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3w vacation, 8w sick leave, Aetna PPO, MetLife Dental, 401k, MSA

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that my benefits are exceptional

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a local staff of 14 and numerous telephone clients. The job is quite interesting. I enjoy providing support for clients, solving their issues can be a fun challenge.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a corporate office. We work in cubes. We use a telephone headset and a computer. I would say that it can be boring to sit in the same place all the time but the job is insteresting and I enjoy being in such close proximity of my colleagues when I need or give assitance.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at the office at 7:30. Checked for voice mail messages from previous day. Log those messages into our call tracking tool then contact the callers and troubleshoot their issue.
8am to 9amTake phone calls and troubleshoot issues. Respond to emails and closed help desk tickets. I received approximately 10 calls during this our busiest hour. Most of these calls consist of users who have disabled their accounts due to incorrect passwords and I have to reinable them.
9am to 10amContinue taking phone calls from users. Follow up on the tickets I have already opened and referred to other areas of the office. This hour is much slower and I am able to take the time to log into peoples computers remotely and install software that they have requested.
10am to 11amThis hour is more of the same. I tend to do a lot of software installations and troubleshooting. The majority of people’s issues are really simple. In most cases our job revolves around operator error. In fact many times there isn’t anything wrong at all other than the fact that people forget how to do something or are just impatient and don’t wait for the computer to catch up with their activities so they think that there is something wrong with it.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmI just assisted someone with installing a printer on their computer. Their hospital has a nice utitlity for doing this but the job still requires our assistance because there is some confusion about what printer is where. As a result of this I have to do some back end investigating to determine the IP address of the printer I want to add before I can continue the install.
1pm to 2pmTake phone calls and troubleshoot issues. Respond to emails and closed help desk tickets.
2pm to 3pmTake phone calls and troubleshoot issues. Respond to emails and closed help desk tickets.
3pm to 4pmTake phone calls and troubleshoot issues. Respond to emails and closed help desk tickets.
4pm to 5pmTake phone calls and troubleshoot issues. Respond to emails and closed help desk tickets.
5pm to 6pmoff work
6pm to 7pmoff work
7pm to 8pmoff work
8pm to 9pmoff work
9pm to 10pmoff work
10pm to 11pmoff work
11pm to 12amoff work

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper advertisment

What was the application process?
Sumbitted resume electronically through CareerBuilder.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 2 interviews for this position. I was interviewed directly by my manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What sort of customer service experience I had. What healthcare experience I had. How I handle people when they are not happy, how do I manage difficult situations. Recall a time when you did something you were really proud of.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but much of my training actually came from past experience. This job expects you to have a certain amount of knowledge with regards to providing tech support and providing good customer service.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, we have electronic training sessions for the different applications that we support. after completing each module we were tested on it.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My education is a BS in Information Technology with a focus on Healthcare. I could not have chosen a better way to prepare for this position than having that degree.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes. I interned as a system adminstrator. I learned valuable skills in managing networks and security policy which I use on this job daily.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a degree or a lot of experience in Information Technology. Study for the type of things that would be on an A+ exam. Also recommend that you brush up on customer service skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They shoudl be technically proficient with MS Windows OS and other programs. In addition they should have a pleasant attitude. They should be able to deal with people who might not be in the best of moods. They should be able to clearly express themselves with people who may not be as technically literate as we would like them to be.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes because you cannot provide good service without being knowlegable about the software and hardware we support.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be friendly and confident. Make sure to take every opportunity to learn as you go.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because I see this as a steping stone to my ultimate position in Healthcare IT consulting. Because I have the benefit of being on the inside I have a sought after perspective to potential employers.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to work my way up through the company I am currently employed with into a clinical support position. This requires additional knowledge specific to certain applications that we use and also medical knowledge.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy it. I am very greatful that while the economy is in recession that I have a secure job that I enjoy.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Service Desk Analyst8 mos35000I provide tech support for employees at the different hospitals that HCA owns.
Prior Job 2Intern8 mos12.00/hrI was the assistant to the system adminstrator. I provided hardware support for the FSU London Study Centre. I repaired hardware, installed and supported software, provided network support and managed the group policies for the network.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Florida State UniversityInformation Technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.