Process Server And Owner (Female, Age 50) in Lakewood, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 50 who works as a Process Server And Owner in Lakewood, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProcess Server And Owner
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLakewood, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
a process server serves legal items to people and companys . we own the company also and are napps members.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle calls coming in and tell people the price and if there documents are in are service area. and am a noatory to do documents. I also go on serves to protect the processer from harm. also enter documents to be done.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes I work with someone else. She is my spouse.I also deal with public over the phone as well sometimes the servey. some times this can be stressful since we don’t allow people to come to are office to drop off papers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
are office is in are home and always in the field to serve papers so a good car is a must.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 0
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ampick up phones when a client calls and input job as needed
8am to 9amtalked to client when he called to ask price and if we could service him. inputed job in computer as needed to 5 times talked to other clients also
9am to 10amtalked to other people as well to give the status of job
10am to 11amtalked to more people for are rates as well as input jobs
11am to 12pmna
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmnoratarised papers
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pmwent with partner to serve documents
7pm to 8pmwent to locations to serve papers and act as watcher
8pm to 9pmwent to locations to watch
9pm to 10pmwent to locations to watch
10pm to 11pminput jobs
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
we were talking to a freind who dose this and she told us the good and the bad

What was the application process?
we had to submitt all kinds of resumes as well as paper applications as well also a background check cant be a felon

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
since we own the company we did’t. but when we frist started we did so as to get the training

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
if we had a record if we can handle being called everything in the book if we had a good car . also willing to have a background check.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes they warned us of the pitfalls ahead of time.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. we are trained in are job also have take classes that we paid for to learn the extras of this job. we also have conceal carry guns if we are attacked it has happened! my partner also has martial arts training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no at first we hand’t a clue on how to handle the questions so we took extra class be on the normal kind of things you learn in the feild.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they would have to work for server that dose bulk serves and do on the job training. as well as do serves that pay lower to do this also they would only get paid if they serve the paper not just to go there and try it only or be told that person is no longer there.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good customer service skills and a strong knowledge of the rules to service other state laws in your area.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes you should work for less at the start to be trained.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would also be aware of the fact that this job isn’t as easy as it sounds. you have bad names people call you as well as the fact that you can come to harm on this job. not many people like the process server to serve them. you can’t take things persoable or get mad easy.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no . I would like to be therapsit

What are your current career goals?
to finish doing this as long as I can

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sr cust service5yrs9hranswer phones and make moneygram transactions over phone as well as problem solving and fraud contol
Prior Job 2alarm monerter3yrs7hrwatch alarm as well as call fire and police when alarm went off stay with people while emergency was happning to them. as well as write reports on the mater.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5araphoe commiuty collegemlt
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.