Manager (Female, Age 34) in cambridge, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Manager in cambridge, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManager
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationcambridge, MD
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Not only do we specialize in making dreams come true on one side of our business, but the other side we also rescue and save animals. Another part of our business we produce and make canldes, soaps, and toys for children. We also pride ourselves in helping families stay together, live free, and happy with the security of life and living in todays economy.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I organize, make, and order things. Along with I also go and rescue animals, treat them and get them rehab to be able to go to loving homes. I also help families stay together, find security, and live happily ever after as a family. I also find organizations that we support and help spread their causes.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks paid vacation, 20 days sick leave, saving plans that match dollar for dollar

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am satisfied with my current compensated for my position. I chosed this job for the purpose to make a difference and touch lives of those animals and people that truly need the help.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with many people, and many animals ever day. It is always a excellent adventure for me to show up for work each day and see the lives not only of humans but also of the beloved animals that we help each day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home and in the field I love this I have the flexibility to be able to work when I can, and also it allows me to get out in the public and see what wonders can be accomplished with just a little dream.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amI arrive at work and handed reports of animals to go pick up. At this time I prepare the best route to go threw to pick up as many as the animals before noon.
9am to 10amout gathering up animals
10am to 11amout gathering up animals
11am to 12pmcoming back to the center with all the animals

then the harder work continues on which way is best to treat the animals for their conditions

12pm to 1pmtreating animals
1pm to 2pmi am handed a family or two to go help with their problems i evaluate them and find out what exactly help they need
2pm to 3pmobserving the family and going to find the resources to help them
3pm to 4pmhelping family out
4pm to 5pmhopefully have the information for the families and helping them get their dreams and problems solved or accomplished
5pm to 6pmtaking families out for dinner and working with them
6pm to 7pmchecking on the animals and doing whatever it is needed
7pm to 8pmgo home for the day
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend, referral, searching for ways to help and save animals along with families that have lost everything

What was the application process?
all above and more

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
this is tricky the interview was actually more like a test I was assigned two animals to go rescue and save along with a family to help my job to be able to get it and keep it was to save the animals and find them new homes, and help the family out in the way they needed it

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
basic information about my knowledge and health of animals, what to do in certain circumstances, along with other things like knowing what is out there in resources and how to definitely get them approved

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes at any time I have a question or need help they do so without thinking twice about it or making me feel like I am this small little not worth their time person

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training is every day as you always are learning new things and new adventures. Not only that there is always new resources that are out there and new places to turn to

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not exactly, I did all my research and discoveries myself. No college or school that I know of can completely prepare you for the job I am in.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get educated in animals, and knowing the resources that are out there available to families and animals to live free and happy in this economy.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must be well socially, organizied, know how to stay cool and collect, and love what your doing. This job is not for someone looking to make money from it is something your heart has to be into to be able to do this type of job.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You just have to be able to know what resources are out there, and how to go about them. Also you need to be friendly, secure, and safe with families and animals as well.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You have to love animals, love to save animals. Also have to be willing to go the far distance to make sure they go to safe and loving homes. For families you have to always have a open mind and a open heart to be able to help them accomplish their dreams and stay together.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes i love what i do and will probably always do it as long as i can

What are your current career goals?
to help all the abused and neglected animals in the world

to help families live, learn, and stay together happily, healthy, and free

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
this job is not for everyone but it is rewarding and loving to know you definitely go home each night knowing you accomplished and saved animals or a families lives

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.