Telecom Systems Engineer (Female, Age 32) in Garland, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Telecom Systems Engineer in Garland, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTelecom Systems Engineer
Salary$51,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGarland, TX
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We mostly provide IVR services for major marketing firms and pharmaceutical companies. There are about 65 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I acquire, set up and catalogue toll-free numbers, as well as order and provision circuits and services.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Full health insurance and stock options

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Slightly under, but will be asking for a raise soon.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, but not to a large degree. I spend the majority of my day alone.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I do work for the program managers in my company and take requests for work from my immediate supervisor, as well as interact with our systems administrators, but the majority of my day is spent alone.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was promoted into it and then just given additional responsibilities as I grew into them.

What was the application process?
My original job was for a much lower level position, but it was mostly just resume and interview. I was promoted into this job for working hard and being interested in telecommunications.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, I did not have to interview for my promotion.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, but I have been able to learn quickly and think on my feet. There really has never been time for more formal training in many areas.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
It was very on-the-job training as many of my responsibilities were given to me and I was the first person in the company to have them. I am learning Circuit provisioning as I go along now.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I felt prepared for my original responsibilities as an entry-level transcriptionist, and for my original promotion as tech support, I didn’t feel prepared for many of my newer duties such as Toll-Free number and Circuit provisioning, but am learning as I go.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Study the telecommunications history, learn all about toll-free numbers and DS1, DS3, circuits etc etc.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Attention to detail, ability to work well with others, patience, yet also able to be demanding and tenacity to ensure work gets done on time.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Techincal training, not necessarily formal training outside of High School.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn to get along well with others, learn to be nice most of the time and demanding when need be. Study up on telecommunications!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I really enjoy working with this company and have no plans of leaving. I continue to be challenged and respect and admire all of my supervisors.

What are your current career goals?
To continue learning and growing in my current position, learn more and become more adept at Toll-Free Routing and circuit provisioning.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
A lot of what I do is very niche, there aren’t many people with a job like mine, but I’m really glad I have it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer Service3 months$10/hrTook orders over the phone.
Prior Job 2Children’s Minister1 year$500/monthWorked with children planning activities & teaching, drove bus to pick them up.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1The Criswell CollegeCounseling
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)