Account Manager 

(Female, Age 25) from Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Account Manager in Brooklyn, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Account Manager
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Brooklyn, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small business management firm, consisting of 8 employees, 2 of which are CPA’s. In general, we manage the financial and capital assets of well known actors and producers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Create journal entries for monthly bank statements, perform bank reconciliations, submit insurance claims, pay all bills.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
right now I’d say well, but when I receive my bachleors next year, then under.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I interact with co workers, as well as clients and employees at several financial institutions. I can’t say its something I necessarily like but I dont mind. I use to be a receptionist so its a lot less contact than that.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
New York Times

What was the application process?
submitted my resume through email

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
After they received my resume, the secretary called me in for an interview with the boss. I met with the boss, senior partner, where we discussed my past work experience and my future plans. She also discussed the responsibilities associated with the postion. The interview lasted about 45 minutes.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
She asked about my past work responsibilities and where I saw my self in 10 years. She asked why I thought I might want this position and what do I think I’d be able to bring the company.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really. She kinda just told me what to do but didnt really explain it. I learned as I went along and by asking a lot of questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training available.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Definately. If I didnt have that knowledge I would of been completely lost.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I got my job because they were looking for someone in the accounting field, which is what I’m studying in college. So the first step would be to take some courses in accounting. Then create a nice resume and submit it to several places, such as internet resources.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social and communication skills are important for almost any position one wishes to pursue. For this position, it is also important to possess skills in computer software.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definately, some accounting education and overall past experience in an office environment.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If you dont have the past experience or education in accounting, do some research on accounting principles and the importance of financial assets. I would probably suggest researching the clients too.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
The work type is in my future plans but I cant say the actual employer will be, but who knows.

What are your current career goals?
Currently, Im finishing my bacheloers degree and trying to gain as much experience as possible. In a couple of years, I plan to pursue a Master’s degree in Business management and travel during or after. After that, I plan on establishing my own business management firm.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that everyone has to make a living at something but not many can manage their financials properly. That is where a position or career like this comes in!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Medical Biller 2 1/2 years 27000 Submit insurance claims, communicate with insurance companies regarding pending claims, payments and referrals or pre authorizations. Close out all daily financial transactions, maintain patient charts and supervise reception area.
Prior Job 2 Receptionist 2 years 25000 Greet clients in person and on phone. Answer phone, prepare conference room for meeting, disburse mail, send packages, miscellaneous projects.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:94

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9 Bernard Baruch BBA in Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.