Office Manager (Female, Age 48) in Hacienda Heights, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Office Manager in Hacienda Heights, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHacienda Heights, CA
Years Experience10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We place individuals at temporary or permante positions, vary form Industrial to Clerical (Upper Management)

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Interview candidates, per qualify clients. Verify previous employers, Reference checks. Send qualified employee to be interviewed or start thier new jobs,

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, holiday pay, sick leave, bonus

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I enjoy working with people, there are not many dislikes, but at times we do have discripancies with payroll.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was recruited while working at another service.

What was the application process?
Paper application & resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
First an indivual interview, then a group interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My availabilty and flexibility. My expectations, if I might have a client following.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my employer was patient, and worked with me to complete my requirments.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, on the job training. I had to work with a Top Sales person, who showed me some short cuts, and common sense “Do’s & Don’t’s

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I should have continued my education. Alot of my knowledge was on the job training.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply at all of the temporary services in thier area, and follow up. Be consistant.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good customer service skills, must be flexible, billingual is a plu. Able to communicate will all levels, from warehouse employees to executive.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Business course

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient, confident, do not call in sick or ask for a day off for at least the first 3 months. Never be late, and it’s okay to show up early.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I would like to think so. It is my hope that when the economy improves our company can grow.

What are your current career goals?
To make my boss’ job easier. To be able to handle everything without brothering him, and hopefully become a partner.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It can be alot of fun.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales5 years35000Meeting with Brokers, Real Estate Agents, Loan Agents, Bankers, Escrow Officers, to inform them of our services.
Prior Job 2Officers Asssitant3 years24000Assisted the Escrow Officers, and handled all refinance Escrow transactions.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Mt San AntonioGeneral
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.