Administrative/CSR (Female, Age 31) in Wright City, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Administrative/CSR in Wright City, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAdministrative/CSR
Salary$29,990
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWright City, MO
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Our company is a subsidary of Michelin North America. We are a distribution center that provides passenger and light truck tires to local retail tire businesses. We have 14 employees at our location.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I oversee billing of transactions that are done between our key dealers and car dealers and national account agencies. I also provide customer service to our customers inquiring about our products, process orders, reconcile vendor receivers, pricing analysis, and I am involved in the banking processes.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 5 days of sick leave, health/vision/dental insurance, life insurance, and a 401k retirement plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with only many people. I have 13 co-workers (mostly males) and numerous customers over the phone to help then finalize their sales at the retail level. I really enjoy working with others. I am always learning new things from those that I interact with on a daily basis.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I like the openness of it allowing communication much easier. Everyone is always on the same page of what is going on at all times.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amArrive at work between 9:30 and 10 this morning. I immediately tackled a price adjustment project that I in the midst of completing at the end of the work day yesterday. Pricing had changed on a particular passenger tire that purchase in high volume and I had to do an analysis to see if there were any other products that were affected.
10am to 11amWe received a delivery truck from our main vendor. Once the tires were counted by the warehouse staff I had to reconcile the receiver to insure the bill from the vendor was in line with our cost in our system. I then ran a report and imported in into a spreadsheet that showed me the sales numbers of particular dealers that are on special programs with our company to ensure they were on track with meeting their goals by the end of the month. I texted those numbers to my manager.
11am to 12pmI began pulling updated policy and procedure information for our company to put into a binder that can be easily accessible to all employees. I assisted many customers on the phone along with some that came to our center to pick their orders up.
12pm to 1pmContinued to assisted many customers on the phone with their orders and help those that arrived for pick ups. I matched up bills with corresponding paperwork regarding car dealer transactions. Billed car dealer and national account for transactions that took place between them and our dealers.
1pm to 2pmLunch
2pm to 3pmContinued to work on policy and procedures binder.
3pm to 4pmAssisted our delivery driver with paperwork and received payments on accounts.
4pm to 5pmCompleted end of day bank deposit. Entered sales number in to the computer. Organized my desk so that I can start all over again on Monday. Closed at 5.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was in my final semester in college and one of the course requirements for a particular class was to have a mock interview. We had to set up an interview with a random company that had an ad posted in the help wanted. I picked out my company, went on the interview, and was called back for the job.

What was the application process?
I submitted a resume, attended an interview, completed a background check, and underwent a drug test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
An interview was a requirement in the hiring process. Both the Distribution Manager and Assistant Manager we present during the interview. They questioned my employment history, inquired about my education, and asked me to elaborate on my office skills. They also elaborated what their company consisted of and the history behind it.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Where were you previous employed and what were your reasoning’s for leaving there? How long have you been attending college and what is your major? How long before you complete your college education? How would you rate your computer skills? Are you familiar with the Microsoft Office products?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employers did a fantastic job at preparing my for my job. They have always had an open door policy and was more than willing to walk me through any situation that had me stumped.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I attended several one on one training courses when certain people in specialized fields visited our center. I did most of my training online. My assistant manager also trained me in multiple areas of my job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was well prepared for the certain aspects of my job do to the computer training I received in college and high school. I was more excelled in the Microsoft Office projects than anyone else in my office which was very beneficial.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Think outside of the box. Never be afraid to share your ideas. Respect others and their opinions. Being open minded can take you a long ways in the work place. If you have no interest in others opinions they will usually not take interest in yours. Appearance and attitude is everything. Even though most the communication between me and the consumer takes place over the phone, your attitude can be portray through your phone etiquette.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People skills is the most important skill in my field. You must also have the technical skills and have the drive to learn new things to keep up with the daily changes in the market. Organizational skills are also very beneficial – they make the day to day tasks much easier to accomplish.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
A high school education is a definite requirement to be successful in my position. College is not a requirement but is definitely a plus. You must know have strong communication skills (oral and written) and strong mathematical skills.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
My advice to some one starting new in my field would be ready to absorb alot of information. Listen to the customer they most often teach you more than you could learn in any training course or book. They are experienced and know what they are talking about. Be accepting of any task that is given to you. If you need help – ask. Don’t refuse or deny any project or task given to you. It is better to accept it and ask for help to complete it than it is to reject it and have others draw the opinion that you are not a team player.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am content with my current career. I am not the “bread winner” of the family. Therefore, I am satisfied to work in the environment that I do. I am able to do a lot of “mom” things with my kids and I don’t think there are too many employers out there can be that understanding.

What are your current career goals?
I am content with the company and position I am currently in. I am always open to knew projects with in the company to keep my skills broaden and it allows to be more versatile in different job areas within my company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love my job. I never in a million years dreamed of being employed at a company such as this but I am glad I am.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Food Prep1 year15000Prepped food, server, cleaning, and cash register operator.
Prior Job 2Associate Sales Supervisor3 years20000Overseen the daily tasks carried out by 5 co-workers.

Assisted in bank procedures.

Assisted in customer service.

Assisted in store presentation.

Assisted in cash register operations.

Assisted in inventory.

Assisted in the opening/closing function of the store.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4Sanford BrownBusiness Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.