Graphic Designer (Male, Age 31) in Las Vegas, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Graphic Designer in Las Vegas, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGraphic Designer
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLas Vegas, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I run my own design firm called “Cesaretti Design”. I do print marketing for various clients in Las Vegas, NV.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle and oversee graphic design projects for various clients. I also deal with print shops in the Las Vegas area and work with them until the final product is delivered to the client.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I must work with the client on a daily basis by phone or email. Sometimes we meet in person if there is a lot to cover. It’s an important aspect of my job to communicate with other people. More times than not, I like this communication. Sometimes, we will get a client who isn’t much fun too deal with though.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work from home & being a father with two young girls, it’s a luxury to not have to worry about day-care.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I used to work in a design firm. A few years ago and many layoffs later, I was kind of “forced” to work for myself.

What was the application process?
Being a business owner, no applications or interviews were needed.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
None.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, it was a window into what the “real” working world was like. College did help prepare me, but the internship opened my eyes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was in an internship at the end of college.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, it offered me a taste of what to expect once I was out on my own. College did a good job of preparing me for that.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Make sure you do not over extend yourself. It is easy to try and pile on more work because you don’t want to miss an opportunity to make more money. But in the end, it can come back to haunt you. Also, protect yourself and do not take on a project with there being some kind of written agreement between the client and yourself.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must have good social, organization, and technical skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I would definitely recommend getting a college degree as I think that will best prepare you for real work experience. Having a degree only means so much in this day & age, but experience is what really pays off.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Challenge yourself daily. Don’t go through the motions as this is a creative field; you’ll need to feel inspired by every project you take on.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I’d like to expand my business even more.

What are your current career goals?
I’d like to make the business grow to where I have many reliable clients and we are pushing the limit to new ideas.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I’m passionate about what I do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Graphic Designer4 years26000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:NA

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
NAArt Institute of Las VegasBA in Graphic Design
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.