Personal Trainer (Female, Age 33) in hartsdale, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Personal Trainer in hartsdale, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Personal Trainer
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location hartsdale, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the YMCA, an international organization that focuses on families and children, and promoting a balanced and healthy lifestyle. The branch i work for employees over 500 people in various capacities. In addition, I also work as a home trainer. I am a sub contractor for a personal training network; I have been employed with Jiva Wellness for a few years now. This is also a way for me to set my own hours each day without being managed.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work for the YMCA, and also for home clients, as a personal trainer. I travel to people’s homes or offices, or the YMCA to train people in the gym on proper technique for using weights and various machines in order to reach optimal health. Various clientele from young adult to senior citizens to special populations. As previously mentioned, i also work as a personal trainer for Jiva Wellness, a personal training network.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no benefits. receive medical and dental through my husband’s company.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i am content with current compensation.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, i love interacting with various people each day. It is a big part of my job, working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We must follow certain guidelines while working at the YMCA so that our clients are receiving the best care possible, in accordance with the organization’s high standards. It is all about being customer driven.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Walk the dog and get ready to leave for Liz, my first client of the day. She lives about 30 minutes away from my home. Load up car trunk with equipment for the day.
8am to 9am Training Liz 830-930am. We used her treadmill, her dumbbells, and the equipment from my car. She does a variety of weight training moves for the entire body, focusing on fat loss. We train at her house twice a week.
9am to 10am Leave Liz and drive to next client, Sally. She lives about 40 minutes away, and i arrive early. Sit in car and make calls on my cell phone. Left messages for husband.
10am to 11am Sally trains for an hour as well, finishing up at 1130am. She does not have much equipment in the house, so we work out using equipment from my car, in addition to her own body weight. She is focusing on weight loss and building bone density, as she has osteoporosis and does not want it to get worse. We train daily.
11am to 12pm Sally’s friend Diana trains at her house, so i take her right away from 1130-1230pm. She is in her twenties, trying to lose weight for a wedding party she is in during the summer. She trains with me once a week.
12pm to 1pm Arrive home at 1pm. Have a few hours of down time when i run errands, do things around the house, relax, read and watch television. Feels nice to have some time to myself.
1pm to 2pm Check mail, internet, and walk the dog. Receive personal and work emails and respond accordingly. Work out during this time, or within the next hour.
2pm to 3pm Write programs for tomorrow’s clients. Check email again. Ride exercise bike in the living room for one hour, to relax and burn calories. Watch television during this workout. Have lunch afterwards.
3pm to 4pm Walk dog for a bit, then get ready to leave for next client, Rhoda. Rhoda lives 30 minutes away, and has some equipment in her home. I also supplement her workouts with my own equipment.
4pm to 5pm Rhoda trains from 430-530pm at her house. She is a fun person to be around, and we move along rather quickly. She has progressed far, and has gained considerable strength. Started training with me after she went in to remission from breast cancer.
5pm to 6pm Leave Rhoda’s house and head to the YMCA for clients. Arrive at 530pm. Check mailbox for messages, updates from boss. No messages from coworkers, receive a notice about an upcoming seminar.
6pm to 7pm Train Judy for one hour. Judy is a senior citizen, 78 years young. She is trying to keep mobile, and also likes the companionship. We train on machines in addition to free weights. Also working on flexibility.
7pm to 8pm Meet Morton at front desk, and we begin training at the YMCA right after Judy’s session ends. Morton is also a senior citizen, and is in very good shape. Trains with me and also takes cardio classes and pilates, in addition to playing golf. He is well versed on exercise and its benefits.
8pm to 9pm Train Frank, last YMCA client of the night. Frank is obese, and nearing his 50th birthday. Has lost over 20 pounds and still has a way to go, but we focus on his endurance, and fat loss, in addition to discussing healthy food choices.
9pm to 10pm Head home, arrive by 930pm. Unwind for the day, and eat dinner. Try and catch up on current events via television and the internet. Tired and need to review programs for clients for tomorrow.
10pm to 11pm Talk and unwind with husband, watch tv. We catch up on each other’s activities while watching favorite shows. I also use this time to get ready for the next day, so I don’t forget any important programs i have written, additional equipment, or i use this time to make sure I have all the directions i need to go from each and every client in the most efficient way possible when driving.
11pm to 12am I am going to bed! Time to do everything again tomorrow, but different programs and clients await me. Should be another interesting day!

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Asked at my former gym about opportunities.

What was the application process?
Sit down interview and demonstration of skills.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Sat down with two administrators who reviewed my resume and asked me questions about real life scenarios. 3 professional references were called afterwards, and i had a background check.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
About why i went in to the field, what i was hoping to get out of employment at the YMCA.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. They are very good with communication via email, newsletters, and meetings, and i felt prepared to work with clients and co workers.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, on hand training via workshops, seminars, and just jumping right in and training new clients. I had inservice training at the YMCA i work for, for OSHA procedures, reporting inappropriate behavior with children, safety and first aid, and working with others in a positive work environment.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I learned about how to properly train the body for workouts and how to interact with different personalities.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It involves researching the best possible certifications out there, studying and observing others in the field. Do not settle for a run of the mill certification. There are hundreds out there, but few are well respected. Also, you need CPR/AED and first aid certification, as well as trainer’s insurance.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good people skills. You must know how to read verbal and non verbal cues. Be respectful, on time, document all activities with clients including their medical history, and always have a good attitude. Must be interested in continuing education to stay on top of health and fitness trends. Be an example for your clients and live a healthy lifestyle.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes. At least a Bachelors degree in a health or fitness field, in addition to national certifications in at least one specialty area.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep an open mind, do not get selective about what types of clients you would train. It is a huge umbrella, various populations exist like obesity in children, senior fitness, etc. and you should be open to training several types of clients to keep your skills up and not limit yourself. Stay on top of current fitness trends, and do not burn any bridges. You never know where your next referral will come from.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Possibly. I think i will continue working in fitness and.or health and perhaps move on to a more specific area, like women entering menopause.

What are your current career goals?
Work part time and try to break in to freelance writing with a concentration on fitness and health.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This has been fun! Thank you! What is the next step and will i hear back from you soon?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 personal trainer 1 year 45 an hour Training clients to use fitness equipment.
Prior Job 2 personal trainer 1 year 32 an hour Training clients to use fitness equipment.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2 SUNY at Albany sociology bachelors degree
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8 Hofstra University health administration masters degree

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.