Adjustor (Male, Age 34) in Lees Summit, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a Adjustor in Lees Summit, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAdjustor
Salary$57,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLees Summit, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a very large, nationally known insurance company. Our company has thousands of employees and are located in many states.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a claims adjustor. When we receive claims on property that has been damaged I help review the damage.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have a retirement plan 401k, very good medical and dental insurance (PPO, but I had the choice of HMO also), 1 week of vacation and several days of sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I believe that I am adequately compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI usually wake up during this time. Right when I wake up I check my work cell phone to see if I have received any claims via text message that need to reviewed. I shower, get dressed, and go to my home office.
8am to 9amI turn on my computer and check my emails. I also check my voicemail on my land line I have for work phone calls. I respond to my emails and return any phone calls that need to be returned.
9am to 10amI take a break and go into the kitchen for breakfast. I always keep my cell phone on and if it rings I answer it at anytime throughout the day until about 6 p.m. After breakfast I return to my office and continue to return phone calls.
10am to 11amBy this point I have received at least a claim or two so I start to look over the claim. I contact other adjustors responsible for the claim and start my review. In some cases I call the insured person and set up a meeting time. I often contact other people involved in the claim and assess if a meeting needs to be set up with them also.
11am to 12pmI continue to look over the claim. I map out where this claim is located and assess when I will be able to drive out to review it. Some claims may be hours away from my home so I have to schedule certain days for traveling. I have a time frame on what steps have to be completed for my review so I start on the claim as quickly as possible.
12pm to 1pmI take a lunch break. When finished, I may make a few last minute phone calls, and then gather the things I need to do my review and load up my car.
1pm to 2pmA lot of our insured customers prefer meetings in the afternoon so this is typically when I schedule interviews. I will drive to meet them typically at a local agents office. We will review their claim together and I will assess the damage. I will then decide if anymore meetings need to be scheduled.
2pm to 3pmI am constantly working many claims each day. At this point I am rechecking my emails and voicemails. I contact more insured customers if needed.
3pm to 4pmI continue making my phone calls and emails. I drive to my other meetings and interviews. I update the insureds’ claims with what has been done so far on their claim.
4pm to 5pmI sometimes will stop by my office building and check my mail. Sometimes I will meet with the office manager. At this point I make my way home.
5pm to 6pmI usually turn my cell phone off since I do not get many claims after 5 p.m. This concludes my workday until the following morning.
6pm to 7pmI spend the rest of the evening with my family.
7pm to 8pmThis is my family time.
8pm to 9pmI spend time with my family and relax.
9pm to 10pmTo get a head start on the next work day I will sometimes check my voicemails again.
10pm to 11pmI usually prepare to go to bed.
11pm to 12amAt this point I am asleep until the next morning.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.