Accounting Specialist (Female, Age 43) in Mason, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Accounting Specialist in Mason, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAccounting Specialist
Salary$31,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMason, OH
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
business services for furniture rental of business and commercial. Our company has just gone international this year.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
consolidate multiple invoices on 1 spreadsheet for our customers on monthly basis and applying payment against invoices; Inter-company transfer all payment from district to another district; coordinating all issues concerning billing and payment between our end users and inter company costomers. Provide services for over 56 districts nationwide ect.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
paid holidays; personal days, full coverage of medical/ dental and vision insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
for now I am happy for what I get, and is looking for improvement possible

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I communicate mostly on computer and on the phone as well, we have a small office here and I like this way.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Our billing office located in our Cincinnati district area and it is a very small office with 7 people workiing in it. I like the location and can use some bigger space for privacy.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI start work at 8.00 am so this period is my personal time. 🙂
8am to 9amI check my daily schedule and prioritize my work according to my to do list. check mails for some wanted payment checks and set up all routines by order.
9am to 10amcalled my store to confirm any up date on leases as I could not get one lease paid due to customer stated it is not longer open.
10am to 11amwrite and reply e-mails with problems on all related leases on various accounts. One in particular is that I have been bacak and forth with this much high maiteinance account, can not be named here.
11am to 12pmmy break for 15 minutes here and work on my payment reconciliation to balance all checks.
12pm to 1pmmy lunch break.
1pm to 2pmreport to my manager on progress today on some issues and accounts that have been pending with dicisions. Picked up a late pick up on the lease so I have to make a adjusment on my invoice for the past affected 3 months. All these adjusments have to be reported to manager for his book/ record as well with according invoice numbers to go with.
2pm to 3pmthere was a office meeting concerning some new accounts that we just contracted and those are inter-ship accounts which happen for 6 months a year on seasonal basis. I were given 2 new ones and I need to understand mu new format and template for the new account so I set up a conferrence call time with my manager and customers …
3pm to 4pmsent out initial greeting letters to my 2 new contacts persons and indroducing myself and what I will do for them in regards these accounts and set up ” question list ” to ask when the call cames…called home to say hello to my girls and find out what are thier days at school, any high, and any lows? I always enjoy a brief 5 minutes conversation with them, lots of fun and specially a detailed report from my younger daughter as to who is in trouble again with teacher today, oh dear…
4pm to 5pmtidy up all I have done today to again brief my manager and set up the list for tomorrow to do list. In between always reply to my customers’ e-mails and they seems always coming in the course of the day.
5pm to 6pmtime to go home and reflex a bit on the way drive home. I love to have Justin’s song on radio if I am lucky, which I consider such a treat. It is ” my love”
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through a church friend referral.

What was the application process?
submittiing resume in paper, going through interview process and initial test for skills…

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had couple of over the phone interviews and one face to face interviews with my manager and his assistanct manager in the office. Followed by a multiple pages of writing test for common sense and basic working skills.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What was my past work or non work related experiences; what tpye of computer skills do I possess? what I am looking for in a carrear? Where do I see myself in 5 years down the road? How do I handle stress at work or home?… what is my overall attitude towards conflicts at work place? ect.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my manager has been very supportive and have been very patient in explaining for what is required and what is needed for improvement.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
3 month on the job training and prior to the start I took an intensive evening study for my excell study.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, education overall is for preperations for everything in life and is the sense of responsibility and dedication will take you where you want in life.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it gave me first hand knowledge I need for my daily job and keep me informed for what is needed for day to day application.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get better trained with excell skill and be prepared for live and work with numbers in your head constantly. One has to be able to take pressure from deadlines and random demand from the boss concerning work related issues… Be committed for whatever you decide to do and do it well.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I have mentioned in above colomn and like all , or most many other jobs, we all need social skills in order to commmunicate with others and technical skills such as computer skills on all areas to be abel to master your task, in my job, we work on spreadsheet, power point and writing all day; prioritizing is the key to do my job here, I always have a list prepared the day before I leave my office for next morning to ” do List” .

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
lots of common sense, sense of responsibility, commitment and dedication, most of all the love for what you do.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Pay attention to details and learn everything that comes to your way during the course of the day; ask questions; be willing to work hard and devoted, most importantly to take pride for what you do and do it well!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes or no, it all depends on after a while I see what are the advance possibilities here and I would like to achieve somewhere in life and like to further my education if possible.

What are your current career goals?
more efficient and knowledgeable with what I do and improve my computer skills is a constant requirement.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love what I do and I take pride for what I can achieve and what I resolved for my customers at each and every end of the day. In my opinion, learning and living is a life long process.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer service1 year25000provide credit services to customers and with our major creidt card issuers
Prior Job 2Customer Service1 1/2 years23000provide pre and after sale for all federated stores nationwide, such as Macy and Bloomingdale.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
He Bei Universatyliterature, BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.