Educator (Male, Age 39) in Olive Branch, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 39 who works as a Educator in Olive Branch, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleEducator
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOlive Branch, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Memphis Catholic Diocese-It is a group of Catholic schools throughout Memphis, TN.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach at three different Catholic schools. I teach general music, so we learn about notes, rhythm and other parts of music. I also teach vocal music so we practice different music pieces as well. I lead a choir as well.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
9 days vacation, five days sick leave, 2 days personal leave, Cigna health insurance, retirement.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI come to school and arrive there by 7:45, and I have class by 8:30.
8am to 9amFirst class starts at 8:30. I have different classes throughout the day. We practice music and practice rhythms throughout the period.
9am to 10amI have another class and work at singing songs and worknig on rhythms, sometimes we work at instruments.
10am to 11amI usually have my last class up until a little after 11:00 and then get ready for lunch. Again I practice music and rhythms with my students as well as rhythms.

11am to 12pmI have lunch during this time which is usually about thirty minutes
12pm to 1pmI have one of afternoon classes. We work on singing as well as working on music and rhythms.
1pm to 2pmI have my second to last class. We work on singing as well as working on rhythms. We review music as needed.
2pm to 3pmI have my last class of the day. I work on singing and music as well as rhythms. I review music as needed.
3pm to 4pmI leave school.
4pm to 5pmNot applicable.
5pm to 6pmNot applicable.
6pm to 7pmNot applicable
7pm to 8pmNot applicable.
8pm to 9pmNot applicable.
9pm to 10pmNot applicable.
10pm to 11pmNot applicable.
11pm to 12amNot applicable.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.