Chief Petty Officer (Male, Age 41) in Chesapeake, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 41 who works as a Chief Petty Officer in Chesapeake, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChief Petty Officer
Salary$59,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChesapeake, VA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Currently serving in the U.S. Navy with over 300,000 people. My current command is the Naval Information Operations Command with over 300 personnel. We support deployed Armed Forces worldwide with information operations reach-back support.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Stand weekly 8-12 hour watches as the point of contact for U.S. Navy Fleet Warfare Commanders as well as troops on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan. Coordinate technical product production and validation in support of ongoing operations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Retirement plan, health/dental/life insurance. 4 weeks paid vacation.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated for my current position. Troops serving in other places, such as Iraq are undercompensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amEdit and verify morning brief and develop PowerPoint presentation using various government intranet resources.
8am to 9amConduct morning brief to department personnel, followed by attending daily morning brief for command. Brief I develop is used as a portion of the command brief.
9am to 10amConduct training or work toward developing future training for command personnel.
10am to 11amContinue developing or conducting my own training.
11am to 12pmLunch.
12pm to 1pmPerform required Navy physical training.
1pm to 2pmContinue required Navy physical training.
2pm to 3pmReview future plans and begin development of next day’s morning brief. This is then turned over to the next watch for continuation.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.