Office Manager (Female, Age 29) in norcross, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Office Manager in norcross, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$31,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
Locationnorcross, GA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the automotive industry. At my place of employment, there are 25 employees. Within the entire company, there are over 2000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manage the office, and I am in charge of customer relations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation, full health and dental, limited life, 401k.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I enjoy it very much…mostly because I get along with everyone so well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
?

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet to work around 7:30am. I check to see if there were any night drops. I make sure there is paper in all the office equipment.
8am to 9amI turn the phones on at 8am. This is time when we have the most drop offs. When a customer drops off their vehicle, I check it in. If a ticket hasn’t been opened, I use our software program to open a ticket. I then distribute the file to the appropriate advisor.
9am to 10amThroughout the morning, I continue greeting customers, checking in vehicles, and opening tickets. I also answer the phone whenever it rings.
10am to 11amAround this time is when my assistant arrives. This gives me the chance to help out the advisors and manager with anything they need. If they need copies, I make it. If they need track down a tech or an estimate, I do so.
11am to 12pmI continue to help out the advisors and manager as needed. I also check in with my assistant to make sure she is handling the front office duties.
12pm to 1pmNot much goes on during this time. I usually take lunch. And by taking lunch, I mean I go get lunch for myself and one of my coworkers. I sit at my desk and eat lunch. that way, i can answer phones and help customers as needed.
1pm to 2pmthroughout the afternoon, i continue assisting the advisors. The manager usually doesnt need me during this time because he has meetings.
2pm to 3pmAround this time, I contact customers to give them status on their vehicles. If they have any concerns, I address them.
3pm to 4pmAnything that needs to go to the parts dept gets delivered. This means all the paperwork for any preorders we may have.
4pm to 5pmMy assistant leaves around 4:30pm, so I tend to stay at my desk during this time. I help customers as they walk in. I answer phones when they ring.
5pm to 6pmThis is the end of the day for me. Around 5pm, I start to do deposits. By this, I mean that i get all the checks, receipts, and cash in front of me. I determine which repair order numbers they belong to. I then access my Excel spreadsheet, and type in all the data. I settle the Echeck and credit card machines. When I finish with this, I check with the advisors and manager to make sure they don’t need anything else before I leave for the day.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet.

What was the application process?
submitted resume, interview, paper application, drug test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with a manager at a different location first. Then I met with the Director at the current location.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was just asked to speak about my previous jobs. The interviews were very laid back.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I prepared myself for the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
The temp that was in the position before me trained me. There was no set training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not necessarily. I don’t feel as though you need a college education to perform this job. But I do feel that any educational background teaches discipline for ANY job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get together a good resume. Be sure you have good customer service skills, and that you are a go-getter.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
punctuality, reliability, ownership, pc skills, phone skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
don’t be afraid to ask for help.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not necessarily. I havent hda a career plan for a long time. The only plan I have it to be happy in whatever career I choose.

What are your current career goals?
To keep learning.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Rep7 yrs0Promotions and sales for artists associated with the record label. Occasionally, I would work on paid projects.
Prior Job 2Recruiter3 yrs24000As a senior recruiter, I conducted phone interviews for various companies.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3University of GeorgiaMarketing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.