Truck Driver (Female, Age 69) in Saint Augustine, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 69 who works as a Truck Driver in Saint Augustine, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Truck Driver
Salary $24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 70
Company Size (not answered)
Location Saint Augustine, FL
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Trucking Company

We deliver goods from one place to another.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Drive Semi truck to Shipper and deliver to receiver. Obey DOT rules. Do paperwork in order to be paid.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week paid vacation, BCBS HMO, Dental insurance, and medication insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Fairly well paid.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
No. I love being alone without someone over me all the time.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in the field

The only thing I dislike is that I miss being with my grandson and housemate.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Did a pre trip inspection on the truck, filled in my log book, and drove from Gautier, MS to the welcome center on I-10 and stopped to let my dog out to use the bathroom.
8am to 9am Continued driving
9am to 10am Continued driving.
10am to 11am Continued driving until I stopped for fuel at the Pilot Travel Center in Breaux Bridge, LA. Bought some M&M’s for a snack.
11am to 12pm Continued driving
12pm to 1pm Continued driving
1pm to 2pm Continued driving
2pm to 3pm Drove until 2:30 to Baytown, TX. Stopped at TA (Travel Centers of America) for the night, did a post trip inspection and let my dog use the bathroom, again. Hooked up to IdleAire and started my mandatory 10 hour break.
3pm to 4pm personal time
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am Continue my personal time.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
In a trucker’s magazine found at truck stops.

What was the application process?
Submit an application with complete information from the last 10 years, go to orientation, get a physical, drug test, and driving test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
N/A

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, by sending me with a trainer who knew the ropes and taught them to me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, a two day orientation, a six week stint with a trainer, and a six month time with a co=driver.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I went to college and it had nothing to do with trucking.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Either go to a trucking school, or become employed with a company that has a program to train you.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good driving record, no drinking or drugs, healthy and able to pass a DOT physical, able to read and write basic English well enough to communicate on an on board computer with the fleet manager, and patience.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, at least a successful 6th grade education.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Before starting this kind of job, it would be helpful to ride with a trucker for at least a week to see if it is really something you could endure.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I intend to retire as soon as possible so I can be a full time grandma.

What are your current career goals?
I want to be a full time grandma.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Elder Caretaker 7 months $150 wk Cared for an 88 yr old woman as a live-in caretaker. Did cooking, cleaning, yardwork, driving, etc.
Prior Job 2 Associate 2 months $6.50 hr Cashiered, cleaned, stocke, customer service

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.3 Cedarville University BA in Music
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.