Teachers Asst. (Female, Age 27) in new york, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Teachers Asst. in new york, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teachers Asst.
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location new york, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small private preschool located i nqueens nyc its inside a christian church.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
engaging the children in activities, such as arts and crafts, playtime, feeding time and homework

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
they do not offer benefits here

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under pay

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with a group of 3 year olds i love children and having fun with them i am a mother also so i have alot of patients

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
its in a church we have a preschool downstairs we have 5 preschool classes i like that fact thats its more comfortable and intimate and not over crowded like a regular public school. i dislike that fact that there is no playground outside for the kids

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am well got up to get ready for work this morning left the house at 7am arrived at work by 8am sharp
8am to 9am at this time i start setting the table toys up and getting the class in order before they come in at 8:30 am
9am to 10am at 9:45 the new set of kids arrived we let them play for a while “free play” is the proper term
10am to 11am 10:15 am the kids clean up and they get ready for circle time which usually involves the ABC’s, numbers, weather and songs 10:45 am we have an art project we made flower s today Violets to be exact they came out nice we used purple construction paper and tisse paper, glue
11am to 12pm 11:15 am we cleaned up and i got the class lined up for bathroom break by this time they were hyper…super hyper afterwards we gave them snack today they had oreos and orange juice..i know a weird mix but thats what the parents brought in today after that we practice a couple of songs for our graduation on the 28th of june and at 12:00 they went home
12pm to 1pm ahh finally my lunch break..oh so i thought actually who am i kidding usually i work right through my lunch break preparing for my next class to arrive at 12:45 we have 2 sessions each day..so today i was eating my lunch whole cutting out flowers…
1pm to 2pm yes and this afternoon bunch is more hyper then the first…it took us longer to clean up of course because elijah decides to throw legos everywhere…we do the same exact routine as mentioned above
2pm to 3pm this groups violets came out even nicer, than again this group is a bit more advance the my morning class i know thats mean to say being that they are only 4 but its true
3pm to 4pm ah 3:00 at last…but still have to sweep up all the paper that the kids got on the floor put toys away…get tomorrows lessons plans in order…so i left by almost 4!!
4pm to 5pm 4-5 on the nyc subway..how exciting right?? wrong..crowded as usual… standing the whole way by this time i just want to sit…not happening today
5pm to 6pm ahhh home at 5pm but still not done i have to kids and a husband waiting for dinner, not to mention helping my daughter with her homework and preparing for tomorrow and trying to wrap my classes graduation gifts ahead of time
6pm to 7pm this time is my time i watched a little tv checked my email..cleaned up some more of course and gave my kids a bath
7pm to 8pm 7pm….still not done yet…put the kids to sleep…now im really exhausted..i went back online to look for palm tree print outs because we are doing a tropical theme for graduation.. no luck so far..
8pm to 9pm bedtime!!!!!!!!!!!
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through the internet craigslist.org

What was the application process?
i emailed my resume they responded back then I filled out an application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did one interview, was hired on the spot. It was with 1 person (my current employer).

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Some of the questions that were asked were: Why do you want to work with children? What makes your creative? Whats one thing in the past that you did that was memorable while working with children? Why do you want to work here?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, he explained thouroughly what the job entaled also there were several traingings that i had to attend beforehand

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
a couple of childhood behavioral courses, cpr trainings

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
definetely, as previously mentioned, I’ve worked with children for 8 years and I am a mother of 2, i knew what to expect.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would say you must really love kids, its hard work and you have to have alot of patience and kindness.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
patience,responsibility, a kind nature,happy and upbeat and gentle. Kids are very energenic and sometimes sensitive you really have to have gentle ways with them and know how to talk to them o ntheir level.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not neccessarily im a mother of two and knew exactly how the kids would be, i guess for people without kids wouldn’t know what to expect but college courses train in this field.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just know that its alot of work and you’re always on your feet. They will definetely keep you busy , but at the same time its creative and fun…

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no not really i want to make more money, i consider more of a job, than a long term career

What are your current career goals?
Hoping to go back to school i nthe near future to better my education and earn a higher degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I would like to be a teacher for the board of Ed in the near future

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Nanny 4 years 15 Duties entaled: Taking care of children ages 3 and 6, Feeding, bathing and keeping the active through play and field trips
Prior Job 2 Afterschool Group leader 2 years 10 Leading a group of 4th graders in an Afterschool duties included: Homework help, planning creative and enriching activies and planning daily outings

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 Fiorello La Guardia Education/Associates
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.