Tutor (Female, Age 39) in Durham, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Tutor in Durham, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTutor
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDurham, NC
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A private tutoring company that works with grades K-12

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My class contains children in grades K-5 and I am responsible for teaching them their reading,language and math

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
n/a

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under sometimes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
too many grade ranges per tutor

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Inside the public school. work environment is fine

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMy commute starts at 6 A.M. My tutoring session begins at 7:20 A.M. and ends at 8:30 A.M.
8am to 9amfinish tutoring morning session 8:30 A.M. Take bus 9:15 A.M. back to station
9am to 10amswitch buses to go to next school
10am to 11amtutor for another hour for children who have study hall
11am to 12pmback to the bus again
12pm to 1pmbreak time
1pm to 2pmback on the bus going to next school
2pm to 3pmfrom 3 P.M.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pmto 5 P.M. tutoring
5pm to 6pmback home by 6 P.M.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
raigs list

What was the application process?
background check, resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, phone interview, going over qualifications, see if I was a good fit for the job

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
did i have experience, do i like to work with children, what age ranges did I work with

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I worked as a tutor when I attended University

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
just apply

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
able to work with children,patience and knowledge of subject matter

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
you have to love what you do

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. It is what I live to do

What are your current career goals?
finish school

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1marketer3mohourlybuilt client base
Prior Job 2secetary6mofax,file, write grants, answer phones

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Gallaudet UniversityEnglish Literature/ Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.