(Female, Age 22) from El Portal, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Accounting in El Portal, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accounting
Salary $21,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location El Portal, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
About 150-200 employees at any given time working on design and build plumbing contracting projects such as high rises, Jail facilities, government buildings etc.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide authorization numbers for workers on jobs ordering parts, make sure we are ordering from the location with the best prices. Manage equipment rentals, code and enter invoices. Balancing the ledger.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, dental, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
No not at all.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I have to keep in contact with most of our vendors in order to facilitate the payment process and make sure that tickets are collected and matched. Sometimes if the receptionist is out I also answer the phones and am very comfortable dealing with people throughout the day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. The office is very pretty and has a kitchen which is nice. It is also more than a 30 minutes drive away without traffic. Luckily there is never traffic but the drive bogs me down.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Driving to work or already there and answering phones.
8am to 9am Check for any mail or invoices to be entered and start entering them right away.
9am to 10am Sort through delivery tickets and match them to invoices checking quantities and prices for accuracy.
10am to 11am Answering phones throughout the day for various reasons but the main reason is so that I can make sure the guys on the job are buying the parts for the job at the most cost efficient locations.
11am to 12pm Enter more invoices
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Sending out faxes to vendors looking for copies of delivery tickets
2pm to 3pm Updating the excel form I created to track delivery tickets from our various job sites so that I know who has what at all times.
3pm to 4pm coffee break! Just kidding (sometimes.) Assist with an other work to be done in the office.
4pm to 5pm Continue to work on all of the items listed about as I get called or faxed.
5pm to 6pm Driving home
6pm to 7pm Get home
7pm to 8pm Make Dinner
8pm to 9pm Eat Dinner and watch something on television.
9pm to 10pm get ready for bed
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
The initial application and then a follow up application once hired. You can download the PDF at the companies website.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Not really.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I was trained by a co worker. She gave me guides to the Accounting system and answered any questions I may have had.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In part

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You should be attending university and have few credentials that way the company can hire you for whatever amount of money they want and you have to take it because you want to be responsible and learn real work experience instead of working at a restaurant.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Lots of skills. Finance, Social, organization, lots of filing, lots of data entry knowledge. I do know quite a bit about computers so at the office I am the go to girl when someone encounters a problem. Also be prepared to take on random extra work that is not even part of your job. It’s good to take on the extra work because it shows you are dedicated but also you may learn something that will be important at some point in your future.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I feel like you would need to be taught how to do this job over the course of a month or so but after that it all becomes routine. Same stuff different smell.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Welcome to the real world. 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, in the Country with the fewest vacation days per year and we still don’t take them for fear of being outsourced. You’ll be okay if you just always continue trying to learn new skills. Challenge yourself daily. Not just at work but tackle a home project you never thought you’d be able to take care of. Always make sure you have me time and try never to take a job that sucks at least an hour of your life away in driving daily.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It wasn’t in my initial plan but now that I am here it has become a part of my plan. Life is all about networking, learning as much as you can and enjoying yourself while you still can. At this job I have met a variety of different representatives from different corporations in the future if I do open a business in hopes of bringing people into the the technology age I would hope that the people I have met will be willing to hear me out.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t want my career to be my life but I can guarantee that when I work I put my whole being into the job. I hate leaving things half finished. My career goal is to be happy making enough money to have a house and maybe one day even a kid. I don’t want to work 8-5 every single day. I want a job that requires me to travel to new places and keeps me on my toes with new problems and solutions.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Take any and all opportunities thrown your way because you only have one life to live and any skills you acquire throughout life are not just useful to your employer but you your mind. Never stop learning, reading, striving to better yourself and keep your head up because life may seem mundane and boring but life is what you make of it. So if you are always looking at the dirt you’ll never see the sunrise.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Lawyers Assistant 1 year 8 an hour Created legal documents on the computer. Faxed and hand delivered Court House documents. Spoke with clientele. Handled minor computer fixes.
Prior Job 2 Waitress 6 months 3 an hour plus tips Learn wine pairing. Know the ingredients of all menu selections and special food/drinks for that evening. Be prepared for the welcome speech: “welcome to Bonefish grill, we are so happy to have you dining with us this evening, is this your first time here would you like me to explain the menu?” Proper glass shining, folding napkins, polishing silverware. Running food.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Florida International University Information Technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.