Cashier, Cook. (Female, Age 20) in Plainsboro, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 20 who works as a Cashier, Cook. in Plainsboro, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier, Cook.
Salary$19,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPlainsboro, NJ
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
a very busy and crowded bagel place.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
making sandwiches, bagels, wraps, slicing meat/vegetables/cheese/etc, cleaning the bathroom, sweeping, cleaning off the bagel counter and cashier.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, vacation one week

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compesated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I have to work with at least 5~7 girls depending on the day, and 4~5 males. I personally LOVE work. It’s a lot of fun to work with so many people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amhelping customers, making bagels, cashiering, stocking, and making coffee.
8am to 9amhelping customers
9am to 10amhelping customers, packaging spreads, cream cheese, butters
10am to 11ammaking bagels, sandwiches, wraps
11am to 12pmcashiering, making bagels sandwiches, wraps, waitress
12pm to 1pmcashiering, making bagels sandwiches, wraps, waitress and lunch break.
1pm to 2pmcashiering, making bagels sandwiches, wraps, waitress
2pm to 3pmcleaning up the bathroom, sweeping, cleaning off the bagel counter
3pm to 4pmget home, shower, get ready for school.
4pm to 5pmphysics class.
5pm to 6pmphysics class / calculus 3 class
6pm to 7pmcalculus 3 class
7pm to 8pmlinear algebra class
8pm to 9pmlinear algebra class
9pm to 10pmhomework
10pm to 11pmhomework
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walk-in

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. with the owner.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
job experience, school, references, and availability

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. i learned from all the girls working there.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. learning all the different things on the menu, and knowning prices, making certain sandwiches, wraps, what to write down for orders

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
nope.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go check out the different restraunts/ bagel shops/ deli’s and try to observe interaction with each co workers, and also how the customer service is.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, organization skills, common sense, quick thinking, quick actions, remembering/memory skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
nope

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Its really tough to keep up in the beginning, but it does get easier.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
nope, I’m still in school and I want to become a teacher after i graduate.

What are your current career goals?
To become a teacher.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nope

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sales2 years10
Prior Job 2manager1 year13helping customers.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.