Library Media Technician (Female, Age 25) in Sacramento, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Library Media Technician in Sacramento, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLibrary Media Technician
Salary$17,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSacramento, CA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Twin Rivers Unified School District, a K-12 public school district with 45 schools and over 12,000 students in Sacramento, CA.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in charge of the library/media program at an elementary (PreK-6) school.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
183 work days/year, 12 paid holidays, 6 sick days, 6 vacation days, medical/dental/vision/ADD, life insurance, and CalPers retirement.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI wake up at 7am to get ready for work.
8am to 9amI leave the house at 8:30 in order to arrive at school by 9:00am.
9am to 10amAt 9am I arrive at work and sign in at the office, check my mailbox in the staff room and head to the library. I turn on the lights, turn on the computers and check my voicemail and respond to any messages. I take out my calendar and make sure I have all the materials I will need for each class that is coming to the library that day. I login and check my work email and read any mail that I have. I walk through the library to make sure everything is clean and neat, and all displays are in order. I usually spend 45 minutes reshelving books from the previous day.
10am to 11amI have one class that comes to the library for 25 minutes from 10:25 until 10:50. They sit on the carpet and listen to me read a story, and then they have 15 minutes to use the library to find books to check out, do research, etc.
11am to 12pmI have two more classes in the library from 10:55-11:20 and 11:25-11:50. They follow the same procedure.
12pm to 1pmI have an open library slot from 12:30-1:00 each day. This time can be used by teachers who want to send up to three unattended students at a time to the library for research, etc. Students can also use a library pass during their lunch recess to come in during this time.
1pm to 2pmI have a lunch period from 1:00 until 1:30 and then I am required to cover the intermediate yard along with an intermediate (4th-6th grade) teacher during the afternoon recess, which is from 1:45-2:00.
2pm to 3pmI have two classes in the afternoon, from 2:00-2:25 and the last class is 2:25-2:50. I then open the library after school to any students/families who want to come in to check out books, use the computers, do homework, etc.
3pm to 4pmI sign out at the office at 3:30 and I am done for the day!
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.