Fundraising Coach (Female, Age 48) in Puyallup, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Fundraising Coach in Puyallup, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFundraising Coach
Salary$34,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPuyallup, NY
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Provide fundraising options for daycares and preschools.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I contact local daycare and preschool centers and help them with their fundraising criteria.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with different people everyday. I love the interaction with all of the new people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office and in the field.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAddress postcards for next weeks visits
8am to 9amBake 4 dozen cookies to hand out as samples and package them.
9am to 10amGet ready for the field – pack my samples and fundraising materials for disbursement.
10am to 11amMeet with 3 daycare centers
11am to 12pmMeet with 4 daycare centers
12pm to 1pmMeet with 2 daycare centers
1pm to 2pmMeet with 4 daycare centers
2pm to 3pmCommute to home office.
3pm to 4pmRead emails and answer phone calls.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The owner of the company interviewed me twice by telephone and then once in person before offering me the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How did I overcome adversity, my work ethic, my personal goals.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was a four hour training with some scripts.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had previously owner a daycare myself and knowing what the needs are in the childcare and preschool arena I can relate to them easier.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start contacting fundraising companies.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, organizational skills, a self starter and the ability to self motivate.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have a nest egg because the money won’t start coming in for about 2 months.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – I didn’t know it at first but the opportunity is amazing.

What are your current career goals?
To make enough money to retire early.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Associate2 months$10 an hourDemonstrate products to consumers in grocery stores.
Prior Job 2Entertainment Rep2 years$2400 a monthTrain retail associates on Microsoft products.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.87

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.24Purdue UniversityBusiness Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.